Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Databases for Biomedical Engineering
Comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
SPIE Digital Library
The SPIE Digital Library is the largest collection of applied optics and photonics research in the world.
A preprint archive for biology papers.
The NIH genetic sequence database.
PubMed @ Duquesne
PubMed includes MEDLINE and additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral.
A preprint archive for engineering papers. Preprints are papers that have not yet gone through peer review.
Full-text database offering journal articles and book chapters from thousands of peer-reviewed journals and books covering science, technology and medicine.
The American Chemistry Society's journal articles database.
Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases for journal articles and patent literature.
First time users must register here
ProQuest Science Journals
Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunication, and transportation.
Cochrane Library - Evidence based Medicine
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane systematic reviews and a registry of published clinical trials. The methodology used to create the Cochrane reviews is recognized as the gold standard for developing systematic reviews.
JoVE - science video journal
JoVE, Journal of Visualized Experiments, presents chemical, biological, medical, and physical research in a video format.
Literature Searching Resources
These are a select list of top eJournals.