Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CINAHL and PubMed are the two best and most used research databases for finding articles on topics in the health sciences.
*Note that if you are using these resources off campus you may need to log in using your Duquesne Multipass.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
The databases below are more specialized than CINAHL and PubMed and will help you find in-depth information on more specific topics.
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCO) Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, this database provides extensive access to educational-related literature, including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Here are links to resources at Gumberg to help you research and write.
Health Sciences eBooks at Gumberg
The following links provide access to ebook databases on topics within the health sciences.
On your phone? Click this link for a list of mobile-optimized health sciences databases, websites, and apps.
These resources are good for use in clinical settings or for background information on a topic.
Other guides that may help you: