Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal Judicial Center
The education and research agency for the U.S. federal courts. Features federal judiciary history, educational programs and materials, class action notices, etc.
Supreme Court Historical Society
Historical and background information on the Supreme Court and Justices. Includes the current court, previous court locations, sample cases, selected digitized collections. See also The History of the Supreme Court.
Supreme Court of the United States
Includes information about the supreme court, the constitution, biographies of current justices, list of all justices who have ever served (including who appointed them, their home state, etc).
The home page of the U.S. federal judiciary. Provides information on and links to all U.S. federal courts.
Cornell Legal Information Institute
Allows users to search for recent decisions by keyword, docket number, year, words in case name. Archives decisions back to 1990, also groups them by subject. Includes the Wex, a collaboratively built, freely available legal dictionary and encyclopedia.
Supreme Court Database
Lessons on how to analyze cases as well as case data, 1953-2008 from the Washington University in St. Louis.
US Supreme Court (FindLaw)
Court docket section allows users to browse cases by topic or month. Site also includes justice biographies, rules of the Court, briefs (most recent five years), headlines and other news, and decisions, also most recent five years.
Look up court cases by citation, parties, or topic. Will need to sign in using MultiPass if off-campus.
Google Scholar can be used to search for legal cases. Set up Google Scholar with Gumberg Library preferences to increase full-text available.
Seal of the Supreme Court of the United States