Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The United States Bill of Rights
CGP (Catalog of Government Publications)
This is the replacement for the GPO Monthly Catalog of government publications for item published after 1976.
The official directory of the U.S. Congress (1998-2009)
* Short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by various categories.
* Lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other State & Federal departments and agencies.
GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress, the Courts and Federal agencies and provides access to full-text and authenticated documents produced by the U.S. Government.
Points to business and technical information sources, including reports, forms, standards, tax, and customs. Some sources require payment.
Frequently Used Sites Related to U.S. Federal Government Information
Massive directory organized by level of government and by subject. Maintained by the Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) of the American Library Association (ALA).
GPO MetaLib (search engine of Gov databases)
A federated search engine for searching 54 different government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
NARA - National Archives
United States National Archives and Records Administration. Search the online catalog for which record group and finding air for material.
President of the United States - White House
Main web site for the White House and the President of the United States.
Congress.gov (Library of Congress)
The Library of Congress Congress.gov site is the source for federal legislative information. Congress.gov provides several options for finding bills, resolutions, the Congressional Record, presidential nominations, treaties, committee reports and other Government Resources.
Easy "find your senators" feature; links to biographies, organization chart, related history and art, legislation, famous speeches, etc.
U.S. Supreme Court
Includes information about the supreme court, the constitution, biographies of current justices, list of all justices who have ever served (including who appointed them, their home state, etc).
U.S House of Representatives
Links to individual representatives' web sites, committee sites; includes roll calls, schedules, calendars, etc.
USA.GOV (Government Search Engine)
To improve the general public’s access to government information by providing hosted search services for more than 300 government affiliate organizations
Flags of the European Union
CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Country Information - International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Provides information on member country's relations with the Fund (e.g. when it joined, its quota size, disbursements and payments).
DocuTicker collects abstracts from 'grey literature': PDF reports published by government agencies, think tanks, NGOs, research institutes and other public interest groups.
European Union (EU)
Portal site of the European Union. Covers current European Union affair and all legislation currently in force or under discussion. Links to EU institutions' websites and policies.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Factbook
The OECD publishes a factbook that provides a global overview of today’s major economic, social and environmental indicators, in a range of user-friendly formats.
United Nations (UN)
The United Nations is committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights.
The World Bank
One of the world's largest sources of development assistance, with a focus on helping the poorest people and the poorest countries.
World Trade Organization (WTO)
A global international organization which deals with the rules of trade between nations. Its goal is to assist producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business.
Local, Regional and State
City of Pittsburgh Coat of Arms
City of Pittsburgh
Links to Mayor's Office, City Council, City Services, Attractions, Press Releases. Includes maps and travel directions, details on redevelopment projects, city directory, etc.
Official web site for Allegheny County. Links to employment, taxpayer guides, parks, elected officials, and other county agencies and services.
State of Pennsylvania
Official state site for Pennsylvania. Links for business, employment, education, recreation, health care, etc.