It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is designed to support students and faculty in Duquesne University’s Biomedical Engineering program. It brings together selected relevant Gumberg Library resources and additional websites.
Use the databases below to search for journal articles. See Additional Resources if you need help formulating searches or finding full text.
Databases for Biomedical Engineering Research:
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowThe largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
SPIE Digital Library and eBooksThis link opens in a new windowCollection of optics and photonics research from conference proceedings, and peer-review journals.
PubMed @ DuquesneThis link opens in a new windowEnables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
EmbaseThis link opens in a new windowCovers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.
SciFinderThis link opens in a new windowLogin with your personal username and password to search SciFinder. First Time Users must register before logging in:First time users
Cochrane LibraryThis link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowFull text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.
JoVEThis link opens in a new windowA peer reviewed, PubMed-indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical, and physical scientific experiments in a video format.
Other Databases to Consider:
arXivThis link opens in a new windowAn archive and distribution server for electronic pre-prints approved for posting after moderation, but not full peer review. Open access to 1,500,749 e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
