LibGuides: Catholic Philosophers: Home

Desiderius Erasmus (1466-1536)

Saint Thomas More (1478-1535)

Portrait of Saint Thomas More Biography from New Catholic Encyclopedia

Biography from Stanford Encycl. of Phil.

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Phil. Doc. Center

Luis De Molina (1535-1600)

Portrait of Luis De Molina

Biography from Encyclopedia of Philosophy

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Francisco Suárez (1548-1617)

Portrait of Francisco Suárez Biography from Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Biography from Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Rene Descartes (1596-1650)

Portrait of Rene Descartes Biography from Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Biography from Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Blaise Pascal (1623-1662)

Portrait of Blaise Pascal Biography from the Internet Encyc. of Phil.

Biography from Stanford Encycl. of Phil.

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Phil. Doc. Center

Nicolas Malebranche (1638-1715)

Portrait of Nicolas Malebranche Biography from Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Biography from Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Vico Giambattista (1668-1744)

Giambattista Vico (1668-1744)

Portrait of Giambattista Vico Biography from Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Biography from Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Saint John Henry Newman (1801-1890)

Portrait of Saint John Henry Newman Biography from Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Biography from New Catholic Encyclopedia

Research guide

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Maurice Blondel (1861-1949)

Photo of Maurice Blondel Biography from Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Biography from New Catholic Encyclopedia

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

G. K. Chesterton (1874-1936)

Photo of G. K. Chesterton Biography from New Catholic Encyclopedia

Biography from Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Max Scheler (1874-1928)

Photo of Max Scheler Biography from Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Biography from New Catholic Encyclopedia

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Pierre Teilhard De Chardin (1881-1955)

Photo of Pierre Teilhard De Chardin Biography from Encyclopedia of Religion

Biography from New Catholic Encyclopedia

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Jacques Maritain (1882-1973)

Photo of Jacques Maritain Biography from Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Biography from New Catholic Encyclopedia

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Etienne Gilson (1884-1978)

Photo of Etienne Gilson

Biography from the Encyclopedia of Philosophy

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Gabriel Marcel (1889-1973)

Photo of Gabriel Marcel Biography from Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Biography from Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Dietrich Von Hildebrand (1889-1977)

Dietrich von Hildebrand (1889-1977)

Photo of Dietrich von Hildebrand Biography from New Catholic Encyclopedia

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Saint Edith Stein (1891-1942)

Biography from Stanford Encycl. of Phil.

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Phil. Doc. Ctr.

Mortimer Adler (1902-2001)

Photo of Mortimer Adler Biography from Encyclopaedia Judaica

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Josef Pieper (1904-1997)

Photo of Josef Pieper Biography from Wikipedia

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Bernard Longergan (1904-1984)

Bernard Lonergan (1904-1984)

Photo of Bernard Lonergan

Biography from Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Biography from New Catholic Encyclopedia

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Walter Ong (1912-2003)

Photo of Walter Ong Biography from Wikipedia

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

G. E. M. Anscombe (1919-2001)

Photo of G. E. M. Anscombe Biography from Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Biography from Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Rene Girard (1923-2015)

Photo of Rene Girard Biography from Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Biography from Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Nicholas Rescher (1928)

Nicholas Rescher (1928-)

Photo of Nicholas Rescher Biography from Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Biography from Encyclopedia of Philosophy

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Alusdair MacIntyre (1929)

Alasdair MacIntyre (1929-)

Photo of Alasdair MacIntyre Biography from Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Biography from Encyclopedia of Philosophy

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Peter Kreeft (1937)

Peter Kreeft (1937-)

Photo of Peter Kreeft Biography from Wikipedia

All books by

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Jean-Luc Marion (1946)

Jean-Luc Marion (1946-)

Photo of Jean-Luc Marion Biography from Wikipedia

All books by

All books about

All articles from Philosopher’s Index

All articles from Philosophy Documentation Center

Catholic Philosophers: Home

Welcome box

Desiderius Erasmus (1466-1536)

Desiderius Erasmus (1466-1536)

Saint Thomas More (1478-1535)

Saint Thomas More (1478-1535)

Luis De Molina (1535-1600)

Luis De Molina (1535-1600)

Francisco Suárez (1548-1617)

Francisco Suárez (1548-1617)

Rene Descartes (1596-1650)

Rene Descartes (1596-1650)

Blaise Pascal (1623-1662)

Blaise Pascal (1623-1662)

Nicolas Malebranche (1638-1715)

Nicolas Malebranche (1638-1715)

Vico Giambattista (1668-1744)

Giambattista Vico (1668-1744)

Saint John Henry Newman (1801-1890)

Saint John Henry Newman (1801-1890)

Maurice Blondel (1861-1949)

Maurice Blondel (1861-1949)

G. K. Chesterton (1874-1936)

G. K. Chesterton (1874-1936)

Max Scheler (1874-1928)

Max Scheler (1874-1928)

Pierre Teilhard De Chardin (1881-1955)

Pierre Teilhard De Chardin (1881-1955)

Jacques Maritain (1882-1973)

Jacques Maritain (1882-1973)

Etienne Gilson (1884-1978)

Etienne Gilson (1884-1978)

Gabriel Marcel (1889-1973)

Gabriel Marcel (1889-1973)

Dietrich Von Hildebrand (1889-1977)

Dietrich von Hildebrand (1889-1977)

Saint Edith Stein (1891-1942)

Saint Edith Stein (1891-1942)

Mortimer Adler (1902-2001)

Mortimer Adler (1902-2001)

Josef Pieper (1904-1997)

Josef Pieper (1904-1997)

Bernard Longergan (1904-1984)

Bernard Lonergan (1904-1984)

Walter Ong (1912-2003)

Walter Ong (1912-2003)

G. E. M. Anscombe (1919-2001)

G. E. M. Anscombe (1919-2001)

Rene Girard (1923-2015)

Rene Girard (1923-2015)

Nicholas Rescher (1928)

Nicholas Rescher (1928-)

Alusdair MacIntyre (1929)

Alasdair MacIntyre (1929-)

Peter Kreeft (1937)

Peter Kreeft (1937-)

Jean-Luc Marion (1946)

Jean-Luc Marion (1946-)

Women Philosophers Picture Credits