This research guide will connect you to reference works, print books and ebooks, databases for articles, and other information sources on major thinkers and their ideas in Western Europe between the 5th through 15th centuries
To access electronic resources, you will need to enter your Multipass information when prompted.
"Medieval Philosophy" from Encyclopedia of Philosophy
"Medieval Philosophy" from Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
"Medieval Theories of Aesthetics" from Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
"Medieval Theories of Free Will" from Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
"Medieval Theories of Practical Reason" from Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Works by Anselm, Aquinas, Aristotle, Augustine, Peter Lombard, and William of Ockham are available from the Past Masters database. To use these works, enter your Multipass username and password when prompted.
Click on any link below to run a search for books in the online catalog.
Click on any link below to run a search for books in the online catalog.
To access electronic resources, you will need to enter your Multipass information when prompted.
To access electronic resources, you will need to enter your Multipass information when prompted.
McInerney teaches on Medieval philosophy starting in lecture 4. However, episode 3 is on Aristotle, who was extremely important to philosophers in the Middle Ages.
If at any time you need help with using Gumberg Library resources, please contact Ted Bergfelt, Humanities Librarian, via email or by phone at 412-426-5430, 8:30 am-4:30 pm ET, Monday-Friday. If he is not available, Ask Gumberg
This research guide was made by Alexa Orbin, English Department Intern at Gumberg Library, October 2021
