Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Full Text

This guide will help users find full text articles from a number of resources.

About Google Scholar: 

Google Scholar can be used to perform broad searches along with verifying citations. 

Google Scholar is best used as a starting point for research, as scholarly materials aren't always peer reviewed. Google Scholar combines the ease of Google with access to scholarly materials by searching the Web for scholarly articles, abstracts and books, weeding out popular magazine, newspaper or Internet articles.

Full-text versions of many items indexed by Google Scholar are not available for free through the Internet; however, many are accessible through Gumberg Library subscription databases, tools such as LibKey Nomad, or through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).

Getting Started in Google Scholar:

To link directly from Google Scholar to Gumberg Library's resources, you must first set your preferences. 

Go to Google Scholar and click the menu tab > settings > Library links. 

Search for "Duquesne" and other libraries in the Find Library search box. If you are affiliated with multiple institutions, you can add them as well. 

Searching in Google Scholar: 

You can perform as Basic or Advanced search to start your research.

If you want to perform a Basic search, start off with several key terms, using quotation marks to group words and phrases together, along with Boolean searching (using AND OR NOT between search terms). 

If you want to perform an Advanced search, go to the menu tab > Advanced Search

Find Full-Text

After finding a resource, click the Full Text Finder @ Duquesne link on the far right to access Gumberg Library's resources.

When the Full Text Finder window opens, it presents options to get full text. 

 

If you cannot find electronic full text, click ILL. Full Text Finder will redirect you to the ILLiad Logon. You will need to login using your Duquesne University MultiPass credentials.

A screenshot of the ILLiad logon box

 

After you login, the information for the article is automatically filled in; all you have to do is scroll down and submit your request.

 

If the "FullTextFinder@Duquesne" does not appear on the right, try these options:

Click on a link if it appears on the far right. The link usually contains the resource in HTML or PDF formats.

Click on the title of the document. If the resource asks for a payment, do not purchase the article or book.

Google Scholar also utilizes open access materials. These are scholarly materials available for free through links to anyone from that publisher's website. 

With LibKey Nomad installed, if you don't see a side link, click the article and LibKey will search for full text and provide you a button if available. 

Another option is searching DUQSearch with the citation information. If you still cannot find full text, please contact a librarian.

LibKey Nomad in Google Scholar:

After you install LibKey Nomad, it will automatically scan for PDFs and direct links wherever your browse, this includes Google Scholar. 

Try clicking the title and if you have LibKey installed it will find the PDF for you. 

You will be given an option to click the button to download the PDF. 

If a PDF is not available, LibKey will provide a direct link for you to click. 

For more information on LibKey Nomad at Duquesne, see our full guide.