Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Full Text

This guide will help users find full text articles from a number of resources.

Using Citations to Find Full Text: 

A citation holds all of the information you need to find the full text of the article - the author, article title, periodical title, date, volume, issue and page number.

You can use the following tools to find full text using citations:

BrowZine: 

You can use BrowZine to find specific journals and articles provided by Gumberg Library. Using BrowZine, you can search by journal title or ISSN. 

 

With the search results, BrowZine provides a button to export the citation, open a PDF, share, and save to your Bookshelf. 

If the library does not have what you need, select "Request this item and/or check additional sources" to be taken to Full Text Finder. 

 

To learn more about BrowZine, check out our full guide! 

LibKey Nomad: 

If you have LibKey Nomad installed on your browser, search the Internet for the article. 

When you open the page, LibKey Nomad will check to see if the article is available through the library. 

Selecting Download PDF will open a new window where LibKey has generated a PDF for that article. 

Selecting Article Link will direct you through BrowZine and then open the full text of the article. 

For more information on how to install and use LibKey Nomad, check out our full guide! 

DUQSearch: 

DUQSearch is found on all Gumberg Library pages. From there you can perform broad searches using keywords or narrow your results by searching for a specific journal or author. DUQSearch will search the online catalogue for results. 

Try searching for the title of the article in double quotes.

From here the Full Text Access provides links to open full text from databases, publisher websites, or BrowZine. 

Full Text Finder and ILL: 

If you cannot find the article using any of the above sources, you can try to request it by going directly to Interlibrary Loan.

When electronic text is not available, click ILL (Interlibrary Loan) to request articles. This service requests materials for you that are not already available at Gumberg Library. 

Full Text Finder will redirect you to the ILLiad Logon. You will need to login using your Duquesne University MultiPass credentials.

After you login, the information for the article is automatically filled in; all you have to do is scroll down and submit your request.

Interlibrary Loan:

Interlibrary loan (ILL) is a cooperative effort between libraries all over the world to allow users access to items not available at their home library. To access materials click the Research button on the Gumberg Library home page

If you cannot find the article you want using any of the above resources, this is how you submit your request: 

Click Interlibrary Loan & E-ZBORROW. 

  

When the new page opens, click the No Full Text? Try ILLiad button. You will be prompted to login using your MultiPass credentials.

 

Once you have entered your personal information, on the left hand side under 'New Request' click Journal Article.

A new page will open and you will be required to enter the correct information within each field.

Where Do I Find the ISSN?

If you are unsure of the ISSN for the journal you are requesting, click the designated link beside the ISSN field.

When the Ulrich's window opens, enter the title of the journal in the search bar.

Find the journal name that your article is from. On the right side of the screen you will see the ISSN number listed for each journal. Copy and paste the ISSN number into the required box.

To find your request, start on the Gumberg Library home page. On the bottom left side of the screen, click ILLiad and login using your MultiPass credentials. Click electronically received articles to access your request.

Click on the transaction number to view detailed information about your request. To open the document, click view pdf at the top of the page.

You will receive an email when your request is available.