Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA 7th Edition

Learn how to use and cite within APA Style

Seventh Edition for Students

Seventh Edition for Students

In the new edition, APA has created a student paper which is broad and flexible because students submit their papers to institutions rather than to an APA journal.

Student papers should include:

  • Title page
    • Paper title
    • Author
    • Affiliation  
    • Course name & number (PSY204)
    • Instructor name
    • Due date (November 4, 2020)  
  • Page number
  • Reference List

Student papers do not typically include a running head, author note, or an abstract, unless required by their instructor.


To see an example of the official format of a student paper, click the student sample paper link below:


For more assistance writing papers in APA Style, check out the preformatted paper templates within Academic Writer. (Note: To use the templates, you will need an Academic Writer account.)

Seventh Edition for Professionals

Seventh Edition for Professionals

Paper elements appear in various combinations depending on the nature of the work. Author's seeking publication should refer to the journal's instructions that are different from or in addition to those specified by APA style.

Manuscripts submitted for publication by professionals should always include:

  • Title page
    • Paper title 
    • Author name
    • Affiliation
    • Author note 
    • Running head 
    • Page numbers 
  • Abstract 
  • Reference list 

‚ÄčPapers may also include keywords, footnotes, tables, figures, appendices, and/or supplemental materials.


To see an example of the official format of a professional paper, click the professional sample paper link below:

DOIs and URLs

When to Include DOIs and URLs

Include a DOI for all works that have a DOI, regardless of whether you used the online version or the print version.

If a print work does not have a DOI, do not include any DOI or URL in the reference.

If an online work has both a DOI and a URL, include only the DOI.

If an online work has a URL but no DOI, include the URL in the reference as follows:

  • For works without DOIs from websites (not including academic research databases), provide a URL in the reference (as long as the URL will work for readers).
  • For works without DOIs from most academic research databases, do not include a URL or database information in the reference.
  • For works from databases that publish original, proprietary material available only in that database (such as the UpToDate database) or for works of limited circulation in databases (such as monographs in the ERIC database), include the name of the database or archive and the URL of the work. If the URL requires a login or is session-specific (meaning it will not resolve for readers), provide the URL of the database or archive home page or login page instead of the URL for the work.