Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PsychiatryOnline: Citing PsychiatryOnline

This guide features the DSM-5 and the most widely used psychiatric references.

Citing PsychiatryOnline

PsychiatryOnline contains books, journals, a diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders, and many more resources.

→ Click any of the titles below to learn more about a specific citation style when using PsychiatryOnline!

Writing an Accurate Citation

  • When using PsychiatryOnline it is important to always cite the version you consulted
  • PsychiatryOnline provides a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) with each online resource at the top of the content section
    • The DOI is reliable and does not change over time, even if the content is moved!
  • Although PsychiatryOnline provides a "Download Citation" link under the Tools feature, the citation generator does not necessarily download the correct data to create an accurate citation

Downloading Citations

  • PsychiatryOnline provides a Downloading to a Citation Manager feature that allows you to download the bibliographic information for the articles. 
    • The citation manager doesn't necessarily provide the correct information. Be sure to double-check your citations!

For Journals:

  • It can go directly to EndNote, RefWorks, Medlars, BibTex, RIS
  • For Journals, click the tools option at the top of the page and then click download citation 
    • Select your software manager and click download 

For Books: 

You must access the chapter itself to download the citation!

  • At the top of the page, you will see the tools option and then click download citation 
    • Select your software manager and click download 

Note: Citation management software vendors have recently released the APA 7th edition style.

  • There are minor bugs that may affect the accuracy of your citations - be sure to double-check to make sure they are formatted correctly!

AMA Style

Chapter in an Edited Book

Author AA, Author BB, Author CC. In: Editor AA, Editor BB eds. Book Title. nth ed. Publisher; year: pp-pp. Accessed on Month Day, Year. URL. 

Example: 

1. Schatzberg, A. F., & Nemeroff, C. B. Fluoxetine. In: Rosenbaum J, Ionescu D, eds. The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychopharmacology. American Psychiatric Association Publishing; 2017. Accessed January 24, 2020. https://psychiatryonline-org/doi/full/10.1176/appi.books.9781615371624.as10.


Online Journal Article 

For a complete journal reference you will need to include the authors' surname and initials, title of article, name of journal, year, volume number, issue number, and doi.

  • The journal name in the citation should be written/typed in PubMed Abbreviation
    • See section 13.10 in the AMA manual for more information

Example:

2. Oldham M, Oldham M, Desan P. Commercially available phototherapy devices for treatment of depression: physical characteristics of emitted light. Psychiatr Res Clin Pract. 2019;1(2):49-57. doi:10.1176/appi.prcp.2019.20180011


News Article (Online)

For an electronic news article, start with the author, article title, publisher, followed by the dates published, updated, and accessed. If one of these dates is unavailable, omit it. End your citation with the URL.

Example:

3. Zagorski, N. 2020 CPT codes include electronic visits. Psychiatric News. January 4, 2019. Accessed February 26, 2020. https://psychnews-psychiatryonline-org/doi/10.1176/appi.pn.2019.12b11. 


Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition

4. American Psychiatric Association. Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. 5th ed. American Psychiatric Association; 2013. Accessed April 15, 2020. https://dsm-psychiatryonline-org/doi/book/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596

APA Style

Chapter in an Edited Book

For online books, include as much publication information as you can collect, including the DOI and the specific web address (URL) on which you found the cited information. 

Example:

Schatzberg, A. F., & Nemeroff, C. B. (2017). Fluoxetine. In J. F. Rosenbaum & D.F. Ionescu (Eds.), The American Psychiatric Association publishing textbook of

psychopharmacology. American Psychiatric Association Publishing. https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9781615371624.as10

Note: PsychiatryOnline does not typically have page numbers, therefore, they do not need to be included in the citation!

  • To download a citation, you must access the page of the selected chapter!

Online Journal Article

To cite online journals, include the volume number, page numbers, publication year and the DOI or web address (URL) on which you found the article 

Example:

Moreno, F. A. (2020). Diversity, equity, and inclusion in psychiatry. FOCUS, 18(1), 1. https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.focus.18101 

News Article (Online)

To cite a news article from the Psychiatric News section, you will need the author, publication date, article title, title of the newspaper, and the URL

Example: 

D'arrigo, T. (2020, January 10). 2.2 M children affected by opioid crisis. Psychiatric News. https://psychnews-

psychiatryonlineorg.authenticate.library.duq.edu/doi/10.1176/appi.pn.2020.1a


Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1776/appi.books.9780890425596

Chicago Style: Notes-Bibliography

Note Style for Chapter in an Edited Book

Example:

     1. Alan Schatzberg and Charles Hemeroff, "Fluoxetine" in The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychopharmacology, ed. Jerrold Rosenbaum and Dawn Ionescu (Arlington, VA: American Psychiatric Association Publishing, 2017).

Note: PsychiatryOnline does not typically have page numbers, therefore, they do not need to be included in the citation!

  • To download a citation, you must access the page of the selected chapter!

 

Bibliography Style for Chapter in an Edited Book

Example:

Schatzberg, Alan., and Charles Hemeroff. "Fluoxetine" in The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychopharmacology, edited by Jerrold Rosenbaum and

Dawn Ionescu. Arlington, VA: American Psychiatric Association Publishing, 2017.


Note Style for Online Journal Article

Example:

1. Ned Kalin, “New Findings Relevant to Substance Use Disorders,” American Journal of Psychiatry 176, no. 2 (2019): A10, PsychiatryOnline.

 

Biblography Style for Online Journal Article 

Example:

Kalin, Ned. "New Findings Relevant to Substance Use Disorders." American Journal of Psychiatry 176, no. 2 (2019): A10. PsychiatryOnline.

Note Style for News Article (Online)

Example:

     1. Mark Morgan, "SAMHSA-Funded Program Seeks to Train Minority Addiction Specialists," Psychiatric News, April 26, 2019, https://psychnews-psychiatryonline-org.authenticate.library.duq.edu/doi/10.1176/appi.pn.2019.5a30.

 

Bibliography Style for News Article (Online) 

Example:

Moran, Mark. "SAMHSA-Funded Program Seeks to Train Minority Addiction Specialists." Psychiatric News, April 26, 2019. https://psychnews-psychiatryonline-

org.authenticate.library.duq.edu/doi/10.1176/appi.pn.2019.5a30.


Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition

Note 

Example:

     1. Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5, 5th ed. (Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association, 2013). PsychiatryOnline.

Bibliography 

Example:

American Psychiatric Association. Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition. Arlington, VA: American Psychiatric Association, 2013. PsychiatryOnline. 

→ The DSM-5 note and bibliography citations were provided directly from Chicago Manual of Style personnel!

Chicago Style: Author-Date

General Formatting for the Reference List


Chapter in an Edited Book

Example:​ 

Schatzberg, Alan, and Charles Nemeroff. 2017. "Fluoxetine." In The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychopharmacology, edited

by Jerrold Rosenbaum and Dawn Ionescu. Virginia: American Psychiatric Association Publishing. PsychiatryOnline.

Note: PsychiatryOnline does not typically have page numbers, therefore, they do not need to be included in the citation!

  • To download citation data, you must access the page of the selected chapter!

Online Journal Article

Example:​ 

Kalin, Ned. 2020. "Novel Insights Into Pathological Anxiety and Anxiety-Related Disorders." American Journal of Psychiatry 177(3): 187-189. PsychiatryOnline.


News Article (Online)

Example:​ 

Moran, Mark. "SAMHSA-Funded Program Seeks to Train Minority Addiction Specialists." Psychiatric News, April 26, 2019. Accessed March 9, 2020. https://psychnews-

psychiatryonlineorg.authenticate.library.duq.edu/doi/10.1176/appi.pn.2019.5a30


Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition

APA (American Psychiatric Association). 2013. Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5. 5th ed. Washington, DC: APA. PsychiatryOnline.

→ This citation was provided directly from Chicago Manual of Style personnel