Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Zika Virus: Scientific Sources

This guide is designed to help Duquesne University students, faculty, and staff who are interested in learning more about the Zika virus.


Zika in scientific literaturemicroscope

Research on Zika is rapidly evolving, but there is already a large amount of information to be found on the virus and infection.

Find clinical sources 

Find scientific articles from databases

Search scientific article collections

Find books and search e-book collections


photo by University of Liverpool; CC BY 2.0

Clinical sources

The links below will provide you with clinical information on the Zika virus.

Scientific articles

The databases below are good places to search for science articles. You will find Latin America/Caribbean medical literature (LILACS), nursing/allied health articles (CINAHL), and articles on microbiology and molecular level research (SciFinder), in addition to many other articles.

If you don't see the database you're looking for, the Research Databases guide is a comprehensive list of all the databases Gumberg Library subscribes to.

Article collections

The research on Zika is rapidly evolving as new discoveries are being made. Some articles may not be indexed in the databases listed above, so for the most up-to-date information, you should search the article collections below.


Ask a Librarian if you need help finding scientific sources.

Scopus RSS Feed

This RSS feed gives you up-to-date articles from Scopus on the Zika virus.

Loading ...


The books below are from the Gumberg Catalog; you can use QuickSearch on the library homepage to find more.

E-book collections

The follow e-book databases host books about viruses, pandemics, disease, and more.