Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Women and Religion: Home

Learn about the roles of women in the major world religions

Picture

"Magdalen with the Smoking Flame," by Georges de La Tour. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

 

A great electronic resource for biblical studies is Oxford Biblical Studies Online. This database contains six study Bibles (published by Oxford University Press), and about a dozen authoritative reference works, including encyclopedias and concordances, one of these being the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies.

It contains the text of the Catholic Study Bible, 2nd edition, which can be read by multiple users at the same time. This study Bible uses the New American Bible translation as the basis of the work.

You can use Oxford Biblical Studies Online off-campus as well as on. However, when you are off-campus and click the link below, you will need to give your Multipass username and password.

Click here to use Oxford Biblical Studies Online

Video Introduction to Oxford Biblical Studies Online

Learn about Controversial Topics

Many students choose to research and write about topics currently under debate. Below is a ins to a database that provides objective overviews of controversial topics. It quotes experts on all sides on an issue, and gives current statistical data.

To use it off campus you will need to enter your Multipass information.

Welcome

This research guide was created to quickly connect Gumberg Library users to information sources on women in the major world religions. It also will link users to resources on social and religious issues of concern to women. It highlights:

  • Reference works, both print and electronic, providing background information
  • Books
  • Journal databases, for finding articles from magazines and journals
  • Information on citation
  • Information on how to obtain books and articles not available at the Gumberg Library

Use the tabs at the top of the page to access the different types of information sources.

Help is Available!

If at any time in your research you need help, click the "Ask A Librarian" link in "Library Links" box on the left side of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, creator of this page. Click to send an email, or you can call me at 412.396.5351.

E-Reference Works - World Religions

Click on a title below to use a reference work. If you are off campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a title link.

Print Reference Works

Click a title below so see if the book is available for use.