Biology
- PubMed@Duquesne: medical and life science literature
- Nature Journals: access Nature, Nature research journals, and Nature reviews
- ScienceDirect: full text for many science journals
- JoVE: video journal
Chemistry and Biochemistry
- SciFinder: Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases for journal articles and patent literature
- First time users - register for SciFinder account
- ACS Publications: American Chemical Society journals and archives
- PubChem: information on the biological activities of small molecules; also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool
- TOXNET: group of databases covering toxicology, chemicals, environmental health, and more
Environmental Science
- SciFinder: Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases for journal articles and patent literature
- First time users - register for SciFinder account
- OnePetro: oil and gas industry literature
- GreenFILE: ecology database
Forensic Science and Law
- FORENSICnetBASE: collection of searchable full text books
Physics
- ScienceDirect: full text for many science journals
- Scitation: while you won't be able to access full text, you can find articles and abstracts, then look for them in the Gumberg databases or order through interlibrary loan.
- arXiv: preprint archive, freely available on the web
General Science Databases
These have a broader scope of coverage and will link to full-text.
Note: These are select databases to get you started from within a discipline. For the complete list of science resources available through the library click this link: Sciences - Natural and Environmental.
- How can I further improve my search results?
- Training Desk - videos and tutorials
- How do I search on Science Direct?
- Training Desk - videos and tutorials
JoVE is a peer reviewed video journal that includes video demonstrations of lab techniques. Click this link to start watching.
Many of the Gumberg Library databases supply not only bibliographic citations for articles, but full text as well. To learn about how to find full text in our resources, click the link below for a page that describes this in detail.
If you come across a screen requesting payment to view an article, do not pay! Instead, use ILLiad, our online interlibrary loan service, to request articles not available through the library. This is available to Duquesne students only. If you are from another institution, check your library's website for details about requesting material from other libraries. Please contact a librarian if you need help.
*First time users must create an account.