Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

UCOR 101: Thinking & Writing Across the Curriculum (ORBIS - May): Home

Welcome!

This research guide is designed to point students in Dr. Rebecca May's ORBIS section of UCOR 101 to Gumberg Library resources to help them do the assignments for the course. It will link you to encyclopedias (print and electronic), great for getting background information and basic facts, to books (both print and electronic) at the Gumberg Library, and to the best databases for articles on topics dealt with in this class. Information on citation in multiple formats, and on how to obtain materials not at the Gumberg Library round out the guide.

Use the tabs at the top of the guide to move to through the sections of the guide.

Help is Available!

If at any time in your research you need help, click the "Ask A Librarian" link in "Library Links" box on the left side of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, creator of this page. Click to send an email, or you can call me at 412.396.5351.

Controversial Topics

Many students choose to research and write about topics currently under debate. Below is a link to a database that provides objective information on such topics. Both quote experts on all sides on an issue, and give current statistical data.

To use them off campus you will need to enter your Multipass information.

eReference Collections

Gumberg Library subscribes to a number of databases of electronic reference works. These cover all subject areas, and in some cases, contain hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries and other sorts of reference works. Most of these databases permit you to search all the reference works contained in them at once. This means you do not have to have in mind a particular book to search. Great for getting started with your research.

Find Background Information: E-Reference Works

To access electronic reference books from off campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on the title link.

Print Reference Works

Find Articles - Business, Music, Sociology & Sport Databases

Find Articles - General/Multidisciplinary Databases

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

To learn how to find full text of articles, click here.