Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

UCOR 101: Thinking & Writing Across the Curriculum (May): Welcome!

 Duquesne University

Duquesne University Motto:

"It is the Spirit Who Gives Life"

Find Background Information: E-Reference Works

To access electronic reference books from off campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on the title link.

Print Reference Works

Welcome!

This research guide is designed to point students in Dr. Rebecca May's UCOR 101 to Gumberg Library resources to help them do the assignments for the course. It will link you to encyclopedias (print and electronic), great for getting background information and basic facts, to books (both print and electronic) at the Gumberg Library, and to the best databases for articles on topics dealt with in this class. Information on citation in multiple formats, and on how to obtain materials not at the Gumberg Library round out the guide.

Use the tabs at the top of the guide to move to through the sections of the guide.

Help is Available!

If at any time in your research you need help, click the "Ask A Librarian" link in "Library Links" box on the left side of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, creator of this page. Click to send an email, or you can call me at 412.396.5351.

Find Articles - Specific Disciplines

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

To learn how to find full text of articles, click here.

Find Articles - General/Multidisciplinary Databases

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

To learn how to find full text of articles, click here.

Controversial Topics

Many students choose to research and write about topics currently under debate. Below is a link to a database that provides objective information on such topics. Both quote experts on all sides on an issue, and give current statistical data.

To use them off campus you will need to enter your Multipass information.

QuickSearch CatalogPlus Searches

These topics are so recent that the Gumberg Library owns few, if any, books that mention them. QuickSearch CatalogPlus is the perfect tool to use to find information on such topics. Click a link below to do a CatalogPlus search. It will give you a mixture of books (if any), EBooks, and articles from selected (NOT ALL) databases.

Click here to learn more about narrowing a QuickSearch CatalogPlus search.

Any of the searches from the Find Books box below can be tried in QuickSearch CatalogPlus.

Find Books

Click a link below to find all books on that subject in the Gumberg Library. However, these searches will not retrieve EBooks. To learn how to find Gumberg Library EBooks, click here.

These are certainly not the only relevant searches that you can run. The only limit is your imagination.