LibGuides: Terrorism: Statistics

Terrorism

Where can I find terrorism statistics?

The following websites provide free, online access to terrorism statistics. Read the information under each website to find the one that fits your research.

Country Reports on Terrorism
The Department of State's annual report on terrorism for those countries and groups meeting the criteria of Title 22 of the United States Code, Section 2656f (the “Act”).
Global Terrorism Database
"The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2015 (with annual updates planned for the future)."
Global Terrorism Index
Produced by the Institute for Economics and Peace, the annual Global Terrorism Index (GTI) is based on data from the Global Terrorism Database (GTD).
more...less...
Updated annually. Includes information about "direct and indirect impact of terrorism in 163 countries in terms of lives lost, injuries, property damage and the physiological after effects of terrorism."
Rand Database of Worldwide Terrorism Incidents
RAND Corpration's searchable database including incidents from 1972-2009.
Suicide Attack Database
The Chicago Project on Security and Terrorism (CPOST)'s searchable database on all suicide attacks from 1974 through June 2016.
more...less...
Results can be downloaded as .csv files for analysis in Excel.

Images of Terrorism

Washington, DC, 9/11

Photograph from the 9/11 Commission Report. Read it here.

New York City, 9/11

"WTC smoking on 9-11" by Michael Foran is licensed under CC BY 2.0.

London, 2005

"Bombers WANTED" reads the news stand at Waterloo Station, London" by jamielondonboy is licensed under CC BY 2.0.

Norway, 2011

"Flowers commemorate victims of a 2011 terror attack in Norway" Public domain

New York City, 9/11

"Two men assisting and walking with an injured woman down a street littered with paper and ashes, following the September 11th terrorist attack on the World Trade Center, New York City" Photo by Don Halasy, Public domain

Stockholm, 2017

"File:The day after the terrorist attack in Stockholm in 2017-3" by Frankie Fouganthin is licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0.

Boston, 2013

"1st Boston Marathon blast seen from 2nd floor and a half block away" by Aaron Tang is licensed under l - CC BY 2.0.