Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Romanticism in Britain: Home

 

The image above is a detail from the painting entitled The Rocky Mountains, Lander's Peak, by Alfred Bierstadt, painted in 1863. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

 

Welcome to this research guide designed to connect the researcher, whether undergraduate, grad student, or faculty member, to Gumberg Library resources on Romantic poets and writers from the British Isles. It will point the researcher to:

  • Reference works, print and electronic, great for finding background information
  • Books, both print and electronic
  • Databases containing citations to literary journal articles
  • Links to high-quality materials from the Internet
  • Information on citation in MLA format
  • how to obtain books and articles not available through the Gumberg Library

So, what is "Romanticism" anyway? It is probably not what you think. It is certainly not heart and flowers and lace.

Click her to see a brief definition of "Romanticism."

Click the tabs at the top of the page to access the different kinds of information sources.

Help is Available!

If at any time in your research you need help, click the "Ask A Librarian" link in "Library Links" box on the left side of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, creator of this page. Click to send an email, or you can call me at 412.396.5351

Cambridge Companions Online

Click the link below to see a complete listing of the Cambridge Companions to Literature available in their entirety through Literature Online (LION). If you click the link off-campus, you will be asked to enter your Multipass username and password.

Reference Works (Electronic)

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

E-Reference Collections

Gumberg Library subscribes to a number of databases of electronic reference works. These cover all subject areas.

To use any of these electronic reference collections off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link below.

Online Reference Collections

Both of these collections of resources can be accessed off-campus, but you will have to enter your Multipass username and password word in order to use them.

Gale Literature Resource Center

This database provides information on thousands of authors and literary works. It includes biographies, reviews and news, literary criticism, and topic and work overviews.

Literature Online (LION)

Along with the full text of of 350,000 English and American works of literature, this database provides articles from 200 full-text literary journals and other key critical and reference resources.

Print Reference Works