Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Course Reserves: For Instructors

Why use course reserves?

Course reserves are a great way to make materials readily available to your students at no cost to them. Ideal for supplemental readings and electronic resources licensed to Gumberg Library, this service is meant to assist instructors in meeting students' educational needs.

Electronic reserves enable students to access course materials through the Gumberg Library's e-reserves site around the clock. Print reserves enable students to access course materials from the library's Circulation Desk during the library's operating hours.

Course Reserves Policy

All reserve requests must comply with U.S. copyright law, Duquesne University's copyright policy, and Gumberg Library's course reserves policy.

The library will seek use permission for copyrighted materials that exceed fair use guidelines and, if necessary, pay reasonable permission costs. Permission costs determined to be excessive may prevent the use of certain materials. If necessary, library staff will assist instructors in finding alternate materials.

The library will not knowingly accept materials for e-reserve that violate copyright law. If materials may not be posted on e-reserve due to copyright considerations, the library may be able to place items on print reserve instead.

What may be placed on e-reserve?

eBooks and journal articles available in Gumberg Library databases.

Print or audio materials available in Gumberg Library's collections or owned by the professor that are converted to digital formats and uploaded to the e-reserves system; print materials are scanned as PDFs. Audio files are converted to MP3 files.

Examples of e-reserve materials include

  • Links to articles in Gumberg's databases
  • Links to articles available freely online, such as those found in open access journals
  • Book excerpts (10% of a text with nine or fewer chapters; one chapter of a text with ten or more chapters)
  • Lecture notes
  • Syllabi
  • Audio files

What may be placed on print reserve?

Books, articles, DVDs, CDs, or kits available in Gumberg Library or owned by the professor.

Physical models owned by Gumberg Library or the professor, such as replicas of skeletal and other anatomical structures.

What may not be placed on course reserve?

Materials borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.

Materials that exceed fair use limits and for which permission cannot be obtained at a reasonable cost.

 

Reserves will be removed at the end of the semester unless other arrangements are made with the Reserves Coordinator.

Useful Links

How do I put something on reserve?

It's as easy as

  1. Review the Course Reserves Policy for information about the types and amounts of materials that can be used.
  2. Complete a reserve request form, supplying as much bibliographic information as possible.
  3. Attach the request form in an email to henryj2@duq.edu

When will my course reserves be ready?

Reserve requests are completed in the order in which they are received.

Request volume peaks at the beginning of the semesterso plan accordingly! Above all else, submit reserve requests at least one week before your students will need to access the materials.

To ensure that your reserves are processed as quickly as possible

  • Fill out the reserve request form completely. Full bibliographic citations are necessary; omissions lead to delays in processing reserves and in clearing copyright permissions.

Tips to expedite print reserve requests

  • Contact your department's library liaison ahead of time to purchase items that are not part of the library's collection.
  • Retrieve Gumberg Library materials from the stacks and leave the materials at the Circulation Desk with the request form.
  • Leave personal reserve materials at the Circulation Desk with the request form.

Tips to expedite electronic reserve requests

  • Email print items that need to be scanned by the library at least two weeks ahead of time to the Reserves Coordinator, henryj2@duq.edu
  • Remove any staples from print materials that need to be scanned by the library.
  • Scan print materials, such as articles and book chapters, that will be needed for e-reserves, save them as PDF files, and email the files to the Reserves Coordinator, henryj2@duq.edu
  • Choose readings from library databases, eBooks, and/or fair use excerpts if possible; copyright permission searches and approvals add to turnaround time.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

  The library doesn't own a book or other item I would like to place on reserve.  Can you order a copy?

  May I put e-reserve materials on Blackboard?

  Will the library scan the materials I would like to place on e-reserve?

  I can't view the reserve request form in my web browser.  What should I do?

  An e-reserve document isn't loading properly.  How can I make it load?

Contact Information

Jean Henry, Reserves Coordinator
henryj2@duq.edu
412.396.6130