Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Research Instruments

This guide will help you learn how to identify, assess, and obtain research instruments.

Asher's

Asher's

Asher's Occupational Therapy Assessment Tools is an excellent book for finding instruments related to occupational therapy.

If you have the name of the test you're looking for, you can search the Title index in the back of the book. The book lists the authors, source information, a price range, description, and validity, among other information.

Alternatively, you can search by author or subject.

There is also an appendix listing resources and publishers in the back, with web and contact info.

CINAHL

CINAHL Header
 

CINAHL is the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. While you may not find the full instrument in CINAHL, you may be able to find citations that will lead you to it.

To find a specific instrument in CINAHL:

​1. Enter the instrument name in the search bar.

2. Change the field to IN for instrumentation. Hit search.

 

CINAHL search using IN

ETS

ETS

 

ETS stands for Educational Testing Service. It has a large database with some instruments available for purchase, and others with publisher and citation information to help you track down the full instrument. 

 

1. Click on Advanced Search

2. Leave the first two search boxes as they are (so the second box says Title Search).

3. For Keyword, enter your instrument title. Hit Search.

 

ETS Title Search

 

ETS Test Link

 

Back to top

Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures

Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures

 

The Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures includes some complete instruments, as well as author contact information. It can be found in the Gumberg Library stacks.

HaPI

HaPI

HaPI stands for Health and Psychosocial Instruments. It is a database with information on research instruments

that can often lead you to the full instrument.

To search HaPI when you have an instrument's acronym:

1. Enter the acronym in the search bar.

2. Change the field to AC Acronym. Hit search.

HaPI Acronym Search

HaPI also allows you to limit your search to primary sources, which may produce the original instrument.

1. On the Advanced Search page, scroll down until you see Source Code.

2. Highlight Primary Source. Hit search.

HaPI Primary Source Search

Here's an example of how to track down a full instrument using HaPI.

Enter Beck Depression Inventory in the advanced search page.

Scroll down and limit your search to primary source.

Click on your first search result. Scroll down to measure to see the instrument you're looking for:

Measure Result

From there, scroll down to References. You will see the instrument:

Reference

You can see that this instrument has been published, because there is publisher information (San Antonio, TX: Psychological Corp.).

From there you can do a search for the publisher name and location. 


Note that you will get different results depending on the search engine used. For example, the first hit on a Google result is Pearson. If you click on the Pearson Assessments page, and then search for Beck Depression Inventory, you will find the instrument purchase information.

A search in DuckDuckGo leads you to Harcourt Assessment. Their website, however, is now a 3rd party website. A search of Harcourt Assessment will lead you to the information that Pearson bought Harcourt, so you should go to the Pearson website. 

Publisher information can change over time; you may need to do further searches once you find the publisher name.


Mental Measurements Yearbook

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Mental Measurements Yearbook is a guide to many instruments for a variety of disciplines. More recent versions (volumes 8-20) can be searched in the Gumberg Library databases; earlier editions can be found in the library stacks (volumes 3-18).

To search MMY for an instrument name:

1. Enter the instrument name in the search bar

2. Change the field to TI Test Name. Hit Search.

Mental Measurement Yearbook Search by Test Name

National Child Traumatic Stress Network

NCTSN

 

NCTSN, the National Child Traumatic Stress Network, has reviews of instruments. If you click on the instrument, you can find information on how to obtain it. Note that some of the links may be out of date. However, they provide citations and author information, so you should be able to use the information to find the instrument. This site also has pricing information.

 

You can search the site in a variety of ways: by author, instrument title, or acronym. Alternatively, you can limit your search with drop down menus, specifying domains and/or populations.

NCTSN search

 

 

ProQuest Dissertations

PQDTG

 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global hosts a large number of dissertations and theses, many of which are full-text.

Dissertations often include the entire research instrument.  Make sure you contact the author for permission before using it.

In Advanced Search, enter your topic in the top box and change the search field to Anywhere. In the second box, input survey, assessment, etc, also changing the search field to Anywhere:

PQDTG Search Box

Dissertations often include the entire research instrument.  Make sure you contact the author for permission before using it.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO

 

PsycINFO is a database from the American Psychological Association. 

1. Enter the name of the instrument in the search bar

2. Change field to TM Tests & Measures. Hit Search.

PsycINFO Tests & Measures Search

PsycTESTS

PsycTESTS

PsycTESTS is a database of psychological research instruments.

To search for full text of an instrument in PsycTESTS, scroll down under Search Options on the search page. Then click the full text box under Limit Your Results.

For more information on how to search PsycTESTS, see our guide.

Tests in Print

Tests in Print

 

Tests In Print is a book that lists all of the commercially published instruments. It has descriptions of each instrument, along with pricing information. It can be found in the Gumberg Library stacks.

You can search Tests in Print a variety of ways: by author, by publisher, or by title.