Skip to main content

Research Instruments

This guide will help you learn how to identify, assess, and obtain research instruments.

Finding an Instrument By Name

Finding the Full Instrument By Name

Bookshelves by Aleksi Tappura                                                                                                             Photo by Aleksi Tappura. Source: Unsplash.com. Used under CC0.

Once you have the name of the instrument you're looking for, it's time to find the full text.

Step 1. Search for the full instrument in the library's resources. See below for a list of databases to try.

Step 2. If you find the full instrument, search the databases for reviews to make sure the instrument will work for your needs. Then ask the author or publisher for permission to use it. 

Step 3. If you don't find the full instrument, but do find it mentioned, you can look at the works cited to find the original source. Search the databases for the original source by title or author. If the full instrument is not in the original source, contact the author and/or publisher for a copy of the instrument and permission to use it. Note that there may be a fee to use the instrument. Make sure you let the owner know that you are a student; there may be a discount. 


Research Tip: Talk to your departmental faculty. Some departments at Duquesne (including Occupational Therapy) have instruments available for you to borrow.


To find a full text, you can use many of the same sources you used to search for the instrument name. Just by making a few small adjustments to your search you may find the full instrument.

Note that if you are off-campus you must log in with your Duquesne Multipass to use some of these databases.

Click on each resource to find more info on how to use it to find full research instruments.

 

Asher's Occupational Therapy Assessment Tools (Book) CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature (Database)

ETS - Educational Testing Service (Database)

HaPI - Health & Psychosocial Instruments (Database)

Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures (Book)

Mental Measurements Yearbook (Book & Database)

NCTSN - National Child Traumatic Stress Network (Website)

PQDTG - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (Database)

PsycINFO (Database) Tests in Print (Book)
   

 

 

Back to top