Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Presentations: Current Schedule

Information about library training sessions.

Calendar

To register, click the registration button under the session description.

Having Trouble?

Click session title to register or contact Lisa Sciulli, 412.396.5346.

Presentations by Faculty & Staff

Documenting Your Scholarly Impact

The workshop's goal is to help faculty members applying for promotion and tenure to make the case for excellence in scholarship by using tools such as citation analysis, journal metrics, and other methods. Newer faculty who are just starting to publish can also benefit by using these tools to develop effective publishing strategies. Following the presentation, participants will have hands-on opportunities to use the tools and begin documenting the impact of their own scholarship. The workshop will conclude with a faculty-led discussion about using scholarship data in the promotion and tenure process. Co-sponsored by the Center for Teaching Excellence.

Presenters:

David A. Nolfi, MLS, AHIP, Health Sciences Librarian & Library Assessment Coordinator
Rebekah S. Miller, MLIS, STEM Librarian

Faculty Discussion Leaders;

Dr. Janie Harden Fritz, Professor, Communication & Rhetorical Studies
Dr. Stacey E. Levine, Professor, Mathematics
McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts

Date & Time:

Thursday, May 11, 2017
11 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Location:

Gumberg Library 408

Register Here


Systematic Reviews: 5 Things You Need to Know

This workshop is designed for faculty and graduate students considering doing systematic reviews or using systematic reviews in teaching. The presenters will explain the differences between systematic reviews, other advanced reviews, and traditional literature reviews. This hands-on workshop will help you begin working on the process of preparing, planning, executing, and writing systematic reviews. The presenters will also address practical considerations including selecting databases and creating comprehensive literature searches as well as managing and reviewing large numbers of results. Co-sponsored by Gumberg Library and the Center for Teaching Excellence.

This workshop is designed for in-person participation only. We are planning a separate version for online participants (more information coming soon).

Presenters:

David A. Nolfi, MLS, AHIP, Health Sciences Librarian & Library Assessment Coordinator
Gesina Phillips, MLIS, MA, Digital Scholarship Librarian

Date & Time:

Tuesday, March 28, 2017
3:05 – 4:20 p.m.

Location:

Gumberg Library 408

Register Here


Theologian's Toolkit: An Introduction to Gumberg Library Resources in Theology

This program is designed for all levels of Theology researchers, from undergraduate majors or minors, to graduate students (MA or PhD levels), faculty, as well as interested members of the Duquesne community.

This 90 minute workshop will cover:

  • Gumberg Library research guides in Theology & Philosophy, especially the re-designed Theology Resources research portal
  • Electronic reference Works
  • The ATLA Religion Database and other Theology journal databases (particularly concentrating on the use of the Scripture tabs of these databases to find exegetical materials on biblical passages)
  • Primary source databases
  • Oxford Biblical Studies Online
  • Using the Classic Catalog to find biblical commentaries and criticism

Presenter:

Ted Bergfelt, MLS, Humanities Librarian and library liaison to the Department of Theology

Date & Time:

Thursday, February 23, 2-3:30 pm

Location:

Curriculum Center, 5th Floor, Gumberg Library

REGISTER HERE

Programs will be presented in 408 Gumberg Library unless otherwise noted.

Click the session's scheduled date below to register.

Survey SOS: Finding Research Instruments & Tests Workshop

Do you use surveys, tests, or research instruments in your research? Do you have trouble finding these tools? Gumberg Library is holding an interactive workshop to provide graduate students and faculty with strategies for identifying, assessing, and obtaining research instruments. You will leave the workshop with approaches for tackling these research obstacles. Co-sponsored by CTE.

February 28, 2017: 10:45 am - 12:00 pm

Location: Canevin 309

Register Here

 


 

EndNotes Basics

Get a basic overview of EndNote citation management software. This session will provide an introduction to EndNote desktop which works in conjunction with EndNote online. EndNote has many powerful features to help with research including: the ability to import, store, and organize references in thousands of different citation styles; store and annotate pdf files; and create citation groups to organize research. EndNote includes a plug-in for word processing programs for inserting citations and bibliographies. This software is available for free for current Duquesne students. Registration is required for this workshop due to a limited number of seats.

Date:
Monday, February 6 & Monday, March 6
Time:
4:30pm - 5:30pm
Location:
Library Room 202
 
Register Here for February
Register Here for March

EndNote Hands-On: PC

Learn advanced EndNote functions, including bibliography reformatting, smart groups, and more. Learn how to better organize your research using this powerful citation management software. Instructors will be available to help you with specific problems as we work through the new functions. Please bring your PC with EndNote installed and ready to use. Prerequisites: EndNote Basics or EndNote installed on PC Registration is required for this workshop due to a limited number of seats.

Date:
Thursday, February 9 & Thursday, March 9
Time:
4:30pm - 5:30pm
Location:
Library Room 202
 
Register Here for February
Register Here for March

EndNote Hands-On: Mac

Learn advanced EndNote functions, including bibliography reformatting, smart groups, and more. Learn how to better organize your research using this powerful citation management software. Instructors will be available to help you with specific problems as we work through the new functions. Please bring your Mac with EndNote installed and ready to use. Prerequisites: EndNote Basics or EndNote installed on Mac.

Date:
Monday, February 13 & Monday, March 13
Time:
4:30pm - 5:30pm
Location:
Library Room 202
 
Register Here for February
Register Here for March

Have a Suggestion?

Would you like to know more about a particular resource such as...

  • Academic Search Elite?
  • Scopus?
  • PubMed?

Let us know!

Suggest a session here.

Facebook icon     Twitter Icon     Instagram Icon     Tumblr Icon     YouTube Icon