LibGuides: Physics: Articles, Journals, & Databases

Articles, Journals, & Databases

Below is the link to our full list of databases, as well as some key databases that may be helpful for you to consider.

Databases A-Z

Databases

ADS SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a database with citations for articles in physics, astrophysics, and astronomy.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Annual Reviews synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in 37 scientific fields. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field.
arXiv This link opens in a new window An archive and distribution server for electronic pre-prints approved for posting after moderation, but not full peer review. Open access to 1,500,749 e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

CERN Document Server The CERN Document Server contains articles, preprints, proceedings, photos, and much more.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics This link opens in a new window The CRC Handbook is a dynamic publication, and every year the editors add new data tables and replace existing data tables with new data values when available. In addition, we are constantly improving the usability and accessibility of the Handbook with more informative introductions and minor data updates.

INSPIRE INSPIRE is a database for articles about high-energy physics.

JoVE This link opens in a new window A peer reviewed, PubMed-indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical, and physical scientific experiments in a video format.

Mathematical Physics Preprint Archive This archive holds preprints in mathematical physics going back to 1991. Researchers can also contribute papers.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information SciTech Connect is home to data, articles, conference papers, and more from the US Department of Energy's Office of Science and Technical Information.
SCOAP3 Repository Repository of open access high-energy physics journals.

Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
SPIE Digital Library and eBooks This link opens in a new window Collection of optics and photonics research from conference proceedings, and peer-review journals.

Journals

Duquesne affiliates have access to several journals relevant to physics. See a searchable list of journals at the link below. Additionally, see below for some relevant publishers with accessible collections.

List of Physics Journals

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases for journal articles and patent literature.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window One of the world's leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary collections of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Full Text Options

This guide explains some of the most frequently used ways to find full text at Duquesne.

Finding Full Text Guide

This tool will pop up in many databases and web pages and help you find full text. It takes less than one minute to setup.

See our LibKey Nomad guide for more information and help with setup.

Borrow From Other Libraries

There are ways of getting access to materials not available at Duquesne by contacting and borrowing from other libraries.

When Gumberg doesn’t have an article, you can order it for free electronic delivery using ILLiad.

See our ILLiad Guide for more information.