Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Peter Pan: A Research Guide: Home

Mary Martin as Peter Pan

Mary Martin as Peter Pan

For many years, it has been the tradition that the role of Peter Pan onstage has been played by a woman. This is Mary Martin as Peter Pan from the 1956 presentation of the play from NBC's Producers' Showcase television program. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Finding Neverland - DVD

Online Reference Collections

The Gumberg Library provides access to two suites of electronic reference works geared to literature, including mystery and detective fiction. Using both will provide your with a great amount of introductory information on your chosen literary topic.

Both of these collections of resources can be accessed off-campus, but you will have to enter your Multipass username and password word in order to use them.

Gale Literature Resource Center

This database provides information on thousands of authors and literary works. It includes biographies, reviews and news, literary criticism, and topic and work overviews.

Literature Online (LION)

Along with the full text of of 350,000 English and American works of literature, this database provides articles from 200 full-text literary journals and other key critical and reference resources.

J. M. Barrie

J. M. Barrie, Creator of Peter Pan.

Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Related Research Guides

Hear Music Based on Peter Pan

Streaming audio for 75,000+ tracks of classical, jazz, and world music, Naxos also includes opera summaries, librettos, and other text resources related to the study of music. (note: 10 users may access Naxos simultaneously).
 
This resource can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use it.
 
 
 

 

Welcome to this research guide designed to quickly connect Duquesne University students to all materials available through the Gumberg Library on Peter Pan, all the literary and theatrical works and films about this character and about J. M. Barrie, his creator. The page will provide links to reference works, great for getting background and basic facts about a topic, all editions of Peter Pan at the Gumberg Library, books of literary criticism, and articles from literary and communications journals. You will also find videos of well-known Peter Pan performances, as well as selected Internet sources. Information on citation and how to get materials from other libraries is also included.


Help is Available!

If at any time in your research you need help, click the "Ask A Librarian" link in "Library Links" box on the left side of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, creator of this page. Click to send an email, or you can call me at 412.396.5351.

Reference Works (Electronic)

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Information on Peter Pan will be found in these reference works by searching for "J. M. Barrie" rather than "Peter Pan."

Click the link below to read the article "Peter Pan Films" from the Greenwoood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales.

Find ALL Articles on Peter Pan from Selected Databases

Click a link below to find all citations dealing with "Peter Pan" in selected literary, education, and communications databases. All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

There is a concept in Jungian psychology called the puer aeternus ("eternal boy"), of which Peter Pan is an example. Click the link below to see all articles on this concept from the best psychology databas.

Find Articles - Literature Databases

Gumberg Library offers access to many databases providing citations to journal articles, and, in many cases, the full text of articles dealing with authors and their works. Click here for tips on searching these databases. All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Find Articles - General Databases Covering Literature

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Primary Texts with Critical Materials

Click on the title of a book below to see if the book is available to be taken out of the library.

Secondary Works on Peter Pan

Click on the title of a book below to see if the book is available to be taken out of the library.

Books on J.M. Barrie

Click on the title of a book below to see if the book is available to be taken out of the library.

Find Books - Children's Literature