Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Mysticism: Welcome!

 

St. Francis Receiving the Stigmata, by the Master of San Francesco Bardi, around 1240. Public Domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Primary Source Databases

Since many Christian mystics have been canonized, these databases, which give information on the lives of the saints, or links to their writings, may be helpful. The information found in these databases is in Latin or Greek.

To access these databases off-campus, when you click on a link below, you will be asked for your Multipass username and password.

 

This research guide is designed to help users find information sources on mystics, their lives, experiences, and writings. It  will point users to: reference works, both print and electronic; primary source databases for lives of the saints, or writings of the Latin and Greek Fathers, books (both print and electronic), journal databases, and high-quality webpages. The guide is rounded out with information on citation and on how to get materials not owned by the Gumberg Library.

Use the tabs at the top of the screen to access the different types of information sources


 Help is Available!

If at any time in your research your need help, click on the Ask a Librarian link on the blue bar at the top of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, the creator of this page. Click to Send Email, or phone me at 412.396.5351

Print Reference Works

Introductory Articles

For some basic information on the topic of Mysticism, click on the links below. To read these documents off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your Multipass username and password.

"Mysticism," from the Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd Edition

"Mysticism," from the New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition

Electronic Reference Works

To access electronic reference books from off campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on the title link.