This is the "Special Collections" page of the "Music Library Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music Library Resources   Tags: music library  

A guide to music library resources at Duquesne University.
Last Updated: Jul 30, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duq.edu/music Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Special Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Joseph Willcox Jenkins Collection

This is a nearly comprehensive collection of Pittsburgh composer Joseph Willcox Jenkin's musical works.  Jenkins began composing short pieces while in elementary school. During his years in high school he made numerous arrangements and original works for orchestra. He attended Saint Joseph's University where he completed a pre-law degree, in addition to studying composition and counterpoint with Vincent Persichetti at the Philadelphia Conservatory. His formal musical training includes bachelor and master's degrees from the Eastman School of Music and the doctorate from the Catholic University of America. While in military service, he served on the arranging staff of the U.S. Army Field Band and the Armed Forces Radio Network, and was appointed chief arranger and assistant conductor of the newly formed U.S. Army Chorus. In 1961 he moved to Pittsburgh to join the music faculty at Duquesne University as professor of history and composition. He received the ASCAP Serious Music Award for two decades and the Omicron Delta Kappa Teacher of the Year award in 2000. Composer of more than 200 works, his compositions include standard works for band, orchestra, chorus, voice, and instrumental selections. He has served as organist and choirmaster at a number of Pittsburgh churches and synagogues including The Presbyterian Church of Sewickley, Saint Bernard Roman Catholic Church, Temple Rodef Shalom, and Church of the Redeemer.

 

 

David Craighead Collection

This is a large collection from the music library of renowned organist and teacher David Craighead. The bulk of the collection is a wide array of organ music - from Bach to Reger to lesser known composers - with David Craighead's markings and notes. The collection also includes personal and professional correspondence, recital programs, and some recordings on reel-to-reel tape, cassette tape, and CD.

David Craighead was awarded his bachelor of music degree in 1946 from the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia.  He taught in the music department of Occidental College from 1948 through 1955 before his appointment at the Eastman School of Music. At Eastman, Craighead served as professor of organ and chair of the organ division of the keyboard department until his retirement in 1992. Many of his students went on to hold positions in colleges and churches across the country. Craighead was also organist of St. Paul’s Episcopal Church in Rochester. Professor Craighead was a renowned recitalist, performing throughout the United States and Europe. Professor Craighead received both teaching and performance honors. He received Honorary Doctorates from Lebanon Valley College and Duquesne University, where he also served as Adjunct Professor of Organ. He was married to organist Marianne Craighead for 47 years, and he himself passed away on March 25, 2012 at the age of 88.

 

Joe Negri Collection

This collection is an inventory of Joe Negri’s records and music. Joe Negri is one of the most recognized names in Pittsburgh music circles and perhaps one of the best jazz guitarists in the country. He's known to millions for his appearances as "Handyman Negri" on the PBS show "Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood.” He played this role for 30 years. As a composer, Negri has written music for many documentary film scores. He wrote his first guitar method book in 2001, entitled "A Common Sense Approach to Guitar Improvisation." The book is an introduction to improvisation and is published by Mel Bay Publications.

 

Dr. Joseph C. Hunter Collection

Dr. Joseph C. Hunter was Professor of Organ at the Mary Pappert School of Music from 1946-1981. The archives houses a small collection of music from his personal library, complete with Dr. Hunter's own markings.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip