Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Modern Theologians: Gumberg Library

 

Welcome

Welcome to this Gumberg Library research guide designed to quickly point users at all levels to information about important and influential theologians of the twentieth century. Catholic, Protestant, and Orthodox theologians are considered. This webpage will connect users to reference works, print and electronic, which will provide background information on theologians and theological movements; to books by and about these major theologians; and to the best databases for finding articles from theology journals. The guide is rounded out with information on citation and on how to obtain materials not available at the Gumberg Library.

Use the tabs that run across the top of the screen to get to the various types of materials. Enjoy!

Help is Available!

If at any time in your research you need help, click the "Ask A Librarian" link in "Library Links" box on the left side of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, creator of this page. Click to send an email, or you can call me at 412.396.5351.

Other Things You Need to Know

How do you know if full text is available? Click the link below to find out.

How do you find EBooks?

If you search the QuickSearch Catalog (or the Classic Catalog), you will not find listed the EBooks owned by the Gumberg Library. Click the link directly below to learn how to find them.

Print Reference Works

Click on the title of a book below so see if it is available to be borrowed. Many reference works can be checked out using your Duquesne ID.

Electronic Reference Works

Click on the title of a work below to use it.

To use any of these electronic reference books off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a title link.

Theology Journal Databases

Full text of many articles are provided by these periodical databases. Click on the "more" link under the database name for information about that database.

These databases may be accessed from off campus. To do that, when you click on the link for a database, you will be asked for your Multipass username and password. Enter that information and you will then be able to search the databases as if you were inthe library.

Philosophy Journal Databases

These databases may be accessed from off campus. To do that, when you click on the link for a database, you will be asked for your Multipass username and password. Enter that information and you will then be able to search the databases as if you were inthe library.