Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

King Arthur and His Knights: Home

Illustration from The Boy's King Arthur, by Sidney Lanier, published by Scribner's, 1922. Illustration by N.C.Wyeth. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons


Selected Cambridge Companions

Click the link below to see the essays contained in this work.The book they are from is contained in the Literature Online (LION) database. If you want to view these essays off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click the link.

From Bulfinch's Age of Chivalry

To see a summary version of many of the Arthurian tales, click the link below.

Online Reference Databases: Literature

The Gumberg Library provides access to two suites of electronic reference works geared to literature. Using both will provide your with a great amount of introductory information on your chosen literary topic.

Both of these collections of resources can be accessed off-campus, but you will have to enter your Multipass username and password word in order to use them.

Gale Literature Resource Center

This database provides information on thousands of authors and literary works. It includes biographies, reviews and news, literary criticism, and topic and work overviews.

Literature Online (LION)

Along with the full text of of 350,000 English and American works of literature, this database provides articles from 200 full-text literary journals and other key critical and reference resources.

General Reference Databases

Gumberg Library subscribes to a number of databases of electronic reference works. These cover all subject areas, and in some cases, contain hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries and other sorts of reference works. Most of these databases permit you to search all the reference works contained in them at once. This means you do not have to have in mind a particular book to search. Great for getting started with your research.

The tales regarding King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table have been immensely popular for centuries. Poets have told and retold the stories and the tales have supplied subjects for visual artists as well. In modern times they have been the subject of operas and big budget movies. Novelists have continued to retell the tales for both adults and children. Arthur's story has even been adapted for newspaper comics and comic books. The stories of Arthur and his knights have also also been, and continue to be, the subject of scholarly inquiry.

This  guide is designed to assist students in researching the (possibly) historical figure of Arthur, the literary and other kinds of artistic works created about him and his knights, and the times in which Arthur (might have) lived. It will point the researcher to many types of information sources available through the Gumberg Library and beyond.

Use the tabs that run across the top of the page to see the different sorts of resources available.

Help is Available!

If at any time in your research your need help, click on the Ask a Librarian link on the blue bar at the top of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, the creator of this page. Click to Send Email, or phone me at 412.396.5351.


Print Bibliographies

Reference Works: Celtic Myth

Print Reference Works