Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Jubilee of Mercy: Welcome

 

       Jubilee of Mercy, 2015-16

"Be merciful, just as...your Father is merciful." (Luke 6:36, New American Bible, Revised Edition)

Welcome!

On Tuesday, December 8, 2015, the Feast of the Immaculate Conception, Pope Francis declared the coming year to be a special Holy Year of Mercy. It is a time for believers to seek the mercy of God, and then to show the mercy of God.

This guide is designed to to point the Duquesne University community to resources available through the Gumberg Library and on the Internet, about the Holy Year, mercy, and related concepts.

To access content in Gumberg Library subscription databases, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click a link.

What is a Holy Year?

Definition from the Catholic Encyclopedia

Definition from the New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition

What is the Holy Door?

Definition from Catholic Straight Answers

What are "Works of Mercy"?

Definition from the Catholic Encyclopedia

Definition from the New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition

What are Indulgences?

Definition from the Catholic Encyclopedia

Definition from the New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition

  

Click the button above to visit the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA) website, home of the Catholic Portal, a catalog of rare, unique, and uncommon Catholic scholarly materials in the library collections of the over 40 member institutions of the CRRA. An ever-growing number of the items listed may contain links to the full-text!