Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Jane Austen: Home

 

Jane Austen: Her Life, Times & Works

" ... she describes men and women exactly as men and women really are, and tells her tale of ordinary, everyday life...with such

purity of style and language, as have rarely been equaled, and perhaps never surpassed. ..."

                                                                                          Lord Brabourne, The Letters of Jane Austen

Jane Austen

Portrait of Austen, based on a watercolor by her sister, Cassandra. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

eReference Collections - Literature

The Gumberg Library provides access to two suites of electronic reference works geared to literature. Using both will provide your with a great amount of introductory information on your chosen literary topic.

Both of these collections of resources can be accessed off-campus, but you will have to enter your Multipass username and password word in order to use them.

Gale Literature Resource Center

This database provides information on thousands of authors and literary works. It includes biographies, reviews and news, literary criticism, and topic and work overviews.

Literature Online (LION)

Along with the full text of of 350,000 English and American works of literature, this database provides articles from 200 full-text literary journals and other key critical and reference resources.

 

Welcome to this research guide on Jane Austen and her work. As the most popular English author of the last 200 years, she has attracted much attention in popular as well as scholarly circles. This guide is designed to quickly connect researchers at all levels with the wealth of materials available through the Gumberg Library on this well-loved author.  This research guide will connect the researcher to:

  • Reference works, great for getting reliable background information
  • Books by and about Jane Austen,
  • Journal databases for finding article, critical and popular
  • High quality web resources
  • Videos
  • Information on citation in MLA 7th edition format
  • Information on how to get materials not available through the Gumberg Library

Use the tabs at the top of the screen to go to the different parts of the research guide.


Help is Available!

If at any time in your research you need help, click the "Ask A Librarian" link in "Library Links" box on the left side of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, creator of this page. Click to send an email, or you can call me at 412.396.5351.

Print Reference Works

eReference Works

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

E-Reference Collections

Gumberg Library subscribes to a number of databases of electronic reference works. These cover all subject areas.

To use any of these electronic reference collections off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link below.