Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

5-Day Impact Challenge

This site contains the activities and instructions for the 2017 5-Day Impact Challenge.

Duquesne's institutional repository

About the repository

Duquesne's institutional repository is funded jointly by the Gumberg Library and the Duquesne Center for Legal Information (DCLI). The institutional repository allows for the collection and preservation of Duquesne’s intellectual output and provides a platform for showcasing and increasing the discoverability of the university’s scholarly and creative works. So, Digital Commons will complement access granted by subscription databases by helping your work float to the top of search results in Google/Google Scholar (and other popular search engines). As mentioned yesterday, as a bonus, Digital Commons will also provide information about who's reading your work.

Many other universities have institutional repository platforms where they collect scholarship authored by faculty was well as datasets, archival materials, institutionally-administered journals, and student scholarship such as theses and dissertations. Odds are you've encountered content hosted on an institutional repository at some point during your research!

Benefits

  • Free! Self-archiving is a popular option for those who don’t want to pay OA fees but still want to make their work OA. 
  • Discoverable in Google/Google Scholar. Works in Duquesne's institutional repository platform will show up in Google/Google Scholar results.
  • University-affiliated. Your publication will be made available on a Duquesne-branded site, clearly indicating that the work originated in a higher education context.
  • Facilitated submission. As the Faculty Scholarship collection in Duquesne's institutional repository is relatively new, the Digital Scholarship Librarian is providing full service for researching rights (i.e. the version of your article that you are able to post) and uploading submissions.

Drawbacks

  • Publisher-mandated embargo periods. Often, publisher restrictions mean researchers have to wait a year or longer to make their work available via self-archiving, leading to major delays in the dissemination of their work. Again, SHERPA/RoMEO is a great tool for determining what your journal’s embargo policies are. Work can be submitted to Duquesne's institutional repository under a limited embargo to help you comply with your publisher's restrictions.

Ready to submit your work to the institutional repository? Enter your name and email and upload a copy of your CV using the form below!


Open access funds & fee waivers

If you decide to publish in an OA or hybrid OA journal but need some help meeting the publication fees, you've got several options.

Duquesne's Subventions & Page Charges Policy

The Office of the Provost provides matching support to tenure-track and tenured faculty whose manuscripts have been accepted for publication on the condition that they provide an author subvention. This policy can also be applied to OA fees. Faculty interested in matching support should consult their department chairs and deans for more information.

Grant budgets

If you're the PI on a grant, you can often write in expected publication fees into your budget. (Or if you're working with a forward-thinking PI, you might ask them to foot the bill out of their grant funds.) Given that more and more funding agencies require public access to the research they fund, they're becoming increasingly amenable to covering such costs.

Fee waivers

Some OA journals will waive their publication fees for authors who hail from low-income countries or who can document financial hardship. Check with your publisher as to whether such waivers are available, and what the qualifications are for applying.


Find OA journals in which to publish

Many different resources exist to help guide you in finding different OA journals. Two places to start your hunt include Cofactor’s Journal Selector tool and the Directory of Open Access Journals’ listings. Both lists were curated with quality in mind. Our Where to Publish guide provides a more expansive list of resources to consult in identifying potential journals in which to publish. In selecting a journal to publish in, you'll want to consider three questions:

  • How does this journal rank in comparison to other journals?
  • What are the acceptance rates of this journal?
  • What is the availability of this journal?

And wouldn't you know -- the Where to Publish guide also provides resources for answering these questions.