Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

HIST 151: Shaping the Modern World (Carroll): Locating Sources

This guide is designed to support Dr. Carroll's sections of HIST 151 (01, 03, & 04), in particular the semester research project.

Ask a Librarian

For more help, you can email or schedule an appointment with your librarian, Gesina Phillips.


Ask a Librarian

You can also email, chat, text, call or meet with a Reference Librarian.

Searching tips

The pre-made topic searches on this guide should help you to find resources related to your topic. Here are some tips to help you make the searches work for you.


Advanced search

Screenshot of the library search box with "Advanced Search," underneath the search bar, circled

Clicking the Advanced Search button will bring you to a new screen that allows you to easily search terms using the Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT. If you click this button for one of the pre-made searches, it will break up the search to show you how it works.


Refining the search A screenshot of the "Refine by" options in the library catalog, located in the left-hand menu.

You can use the sidebar on the left-hand side of the page to narrow your results. Some options include narrowing your results to 

articles only, articles for which the full text is available, or peer reviewed journal articles. You can also narrow your search to other formats: for example, academic journals or books. Don't forget to click the "more" button to see other options!

 

 

 


CatalogPlus or Catalog?

Your search will default to CatalogPlus, which searches the library's online materials (journal articles, eBooks, etc.). If you want to view only books that you can borrow from Gumberg, switch your view to Catalog using the tabs under the search box.

A screenshot of the top of the results page, with the "Catalog" tab circled

Historical Context: Encyclopedias

Often, the best way to investigate the historical context for an event is to consult a reference work such as an encyclopedia. There are many encyclopedias available through Gumberg Library in print or as eBooks.

Pro tip for using encyclopedias: look for specific events, people, and/or concepts rather than general ideas.

Try searching the Gale Virtual Reference Library, our online collection of reference works.

Locating Internet Sources

You are strongly encouraged to find .edu sites in this course. You can limit your Google search to .edu sources by using Google's Advanced Search function.

  1. Type your keywords in the appropriate box at the top of the screen (use "all these words" for a typical keyword search).
  2. Under "Then narrow your results by...," locate the box for "site or domain" and input ".edu" (example below).Screenshot of the Google Advanced Search page section for "site or domain" with ".edu" in the search box
  3. Your results should now only include sources from .edu sites.

Historical Context

Here are some encyclopedias available as eBooks through Gumberg Library:

Creative Commons License
This work by Gesina A. Phillips is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.