Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks: A Research Guide: Home

Henrietta Lacks

Source: http://www.boiseweekly.com/boise/henrietta-lacks-a-genetic-cell-ebrity/Content?oid=2541495

Welcome to this webpage designed to guide students to appropriate information sources for their research on the book The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and issues raised by it. It provides links to electronic reference works on healthcare ethics, links that will search the Quick Search online catalog for relevant books, and links to databases useful for finding articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals. It also provides information on citation, as well as information on obtaining books and articles not available through the Gumberg Library. Finally, It provides a model for evaluating information sources, so students are sure that the resources they use as evidence to support claims made in their writing are appropriate, acurate, and authoritative.

Help is Available!

If at any time in your research your need help, click on the Ask a Librarian link on the blue bar at the top of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, the creator of this page. Click to Send Email, or phone me at 412.396.5351

Find Books

Books are great information sources because they gather together lots of detailed information on a particular topic. You would need to read hundreds of articles just to get the information found in one book. Use the tables of contents and indexesof the books to quickly get to just the information you need.

Click on a link below to find all the books on that subject in Quick Search, the online catalog.

E-Reference Works

Reference works, like encyclopedias, are great places to get basic information on a topic. The articles cut right to the chase and provide you with relevant information without going into extraneous detail.

To access these reference works off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.

Bioethics and Medical Issues in Literature

Blackwell Guide to Medical Ethics

Companion to Genethics

Encyclopedia of Bioethics, 3rd Edition

Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology

Encyclopedia of Science, Technology and Ethics

Encyclopedia of Stem Cell Research

Handbook of Bioethics terms

Handbook of Health Care Ethics

Medicine, Health, and Bioethics: Essential Primary Sources


Find Articles

Articles fom magazines and journals are great resources for providing the latest information on a topic. Of course, they are much shorter than books, giving information usually on only one aspect of a topic. Use them to supplement the information found in books.

To access these databases off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.