Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

The Grand Inquisitor: A Research Guide: Home

Thie guide is designed to help students in the FIDES Learning Community discover critical materials on the Community's common reading for Fall 2015

The Inquisitor and Jesus

"Jesus and the Grand inquisitor." Source

Dostoyevsky

Detail from a portrait of Fyodor Dostoyevsky, by Vasily Perov (1872). Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Finding Full Text

Many of the Gumberg Library databases supply not only bibliographic citations for articles, but full text as well. To learn about how to know in if full text is available in any our our resources, click the link below for a page that describes this in detail.

Video

A 1975 production, starring John Gielgud

Welcome

This research guide was designed to point students in the FIDES Learning Community to Gumberg Library resources discussing the Community's common reading for the semester, "The Grand Inquisitor" (Book 5, Chapter 5 of the novel The Brothers Karamazov, by Fyodor Dostoyevsky). It will link students to encyclopedias and other reference works (print and electronic), books (again, print and electronic), and to databases for journal articles in literature, philosophy, and theology.

Use the tabs at the top of the page to access the different types of information sources.

Help is Available!

If at any time in your research you need help, click the "Ask A Librarian" link in "Library Links" box on the left side of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, creator of this page. Click to send an email, or you can call me at 412.396.5351.

Reference Works

Click the title of the electronic book below to read it. If you click the title off-campus, you will be asked to enter your Multipass username and password to read the book.

The book below is a print reference book. Click the title to see if it is available for use.

Literary Criticism: Online Reference Collections

The Gumberg Library provides access to two suites of electronic reference works geared to literature. Using both will provide your with a great amount of introductory information on your chosen literary topic.

Both of these collections of resources can be accessed off-campus, but you will have to enter your Multipass username and password word in order to use them.

Gale Literature Resource Center

This database provides information on thousands of authors and literary works. It includes biographies, reviews and news, literary criticism, and topic and work overviews.The contents of two massive reference sets, Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography, are included in this database.

Literature Online (LION)

Along with the full text of of 350,000 English and American works of literature, this database provides articles from 200 full-text literary journals and other key critical and reference resources. All Cambridge Companions to Literature are included in this database, as well as the critical book series, New Essays on the American Novel.

Find Books

Click a link below to see all books in the QuickSearch catalog on that subject.

Literary Criticism: Finding Articles - Literature Databases

Gumberg Library offers access to many databases providing citations to journal articles, and, in many cases, the full text of articles dealing with authors and their works. See below for tips on searching these databases. All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

To find all articles on "The Grand Inquisitor" in a database in this box or the one below it, copy and paste this search into the search box:

"grand inquisitor"

You might also try these:

"brothers karamazov" AND (religio* OR god OR jesus OR christ*)

"brothers karamazov" AND (theodicy OR suffer* OR evil)

Other searches are possible. Be aware that, since Russian names can be spelled in numerous ways when translated into English, if you use Dostoyevsky's name in a search, you will need to try variations on it. (The spelling used on this guide is the one favored by the Library of Congress, making it the one most likely to be used in an online catalog.)

Articles from Other Disciplines

ll of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.