Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Gothic Fiction: A Research Guide: Home

Detail from picture of a woman reading a Gothic novel, artist unknown. Source: http://agothicquest.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/scared-vintagegraphicsfairy.jpg


Online Reference Collections

The Gumberg Library provides access to two suites of electronic reference works geared to literature. Using both will provide your with a great amount of introductory information on your chosen literary topic.

Both of these collections of resources can be accessed off-campus, but you will have to enter your Multipass username and password word in order to use them.

Gale Literature Resource Center

This database provides information on thousands of authors and literary works. It includes biographies, reviews and news, literary criticism, and topic and work overviews.

Literature Online (LION)

Along with the full text of of 350,000 English and American works of literature, this database provides articles from 200 full-text literary journals and other key critical and reference resources.


Cambridge Companions Online

Click the link below to see a complete listing of the Cambridge Companions to Literature available in their entirety through Literature Online (LION). If you click the link off-campus, you will be asked to enter your Multipass username and password.

The Oxford Companion to English Literature, 7th edition, says this about "Gothic Fiction": "‘Gothic’ is a distinct modern development in which the characteristic theme is the stranglehold of the past upon the present, or the encroachment of the ‘dark’ ages of oppression upon the ‘enlightened’ modern era. In Gothic romances and tales this theme is embodied typically in enclosed and haunted settings such as castles, crypts, convents, or gloomy mansions, in images of ruin and decay, and in episodes of imprisonment, cruelty, and persecution."

This guide will point the student researcher to many types of resources dealing with this form of literature.

Use the tabs running across the top of the screen to access the different types of resources.

Help is Available!

If at any time in your research your need help, click on the Ask a Librarian link on the blue bar at the top of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, the creator of this page. Click to Send Email, or phone me at 412.396.5351.

Introductions and Companions

The books in this box are all printed books that may be borrowed from the Gumberg Library.