Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Faculty Resources and Services: Home

WELCOME NEW FACULTY!

TEACHING SUPPORT

Library Instruction

Faculty librarians offer a variety of instructional opportunities including: library orientation, course-related instruction, and assistance in creating research based assignments.

See the information literacy page for more information.

Reserves and E-Reserves

Faculty may place course materials on reserve in print or electronic format by submitting a Reserve Request Form. Please Note: Electronic Reserves (E-Reserves) are password protected; course instructors distribute password.

For more information see Course Reserves for Instructors
or contact the Reserves Coordinator, Jean Henry, at 412.396.6130.

Linking to Articles & Books 

Faculty can create their own "deep links" to the library's electronic journal articles and books using Blackboard or webpages. For more information, see Deep Linking.

Academic Integrity and Copyright

The University's Office of Academic Affairs governs policies such as the Academic Integrity Policy and Copyright and Fair Use. See also Academic Policies and Procedures.

RESEARCH SUPPORT

Research Assistance

Research & instruction librarians will consult with you about your specific research needs. Contact Lisa Sciulli at 412.396.5346 to schedule an appointment or contact the Liaison to your department directly.

Access to electronic databases, journals, and books

Gumberg Library's electronic collections are available on or off-campus. Login off-campus using your MultiPass credentials.

QuickSearch - The Library's Search Tool

Use QuickSearch to search for materials in any format or discipline through a single search box. Find books, ebooks, articles, musical scores, CDs, DVDs and more.

Assessing Scholarly Impact / Where to Publish

Use cited reference searching  to help determine the impact of an article, book, journal, or author in the research of a given field of study.

Not sure where to publish? Find a journal in which to publish your research

Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL)

Librarians, in partnership with the Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE), can assist you with SoTL research, such as finding journals and sample SoTL articles in your discipline.

EndNote

Keep track of your research citations more easily with EndNote. Export references directly from research databases into EndNote. Format a bibliography in APA, MLA or other citation styles. User guides and instructional videos are also available.

LIBRARY MATERIALS

Suggest a Purchase

Help the library continue to develop its collection. Suggest a Purchase that would support your teaching and/or research needs, or enhance the library's collection in a particular field of study. 

Borrowing from Other Libraries

In the event that the library does not have an item you may need, there are several options to borrow from other libraries 

Library Liaisons

Contact the Liaison to your department for more information about requesting library materials.

The University Library Committee

The members of this committee are the University Librarian and representatives appointed by the Deans of all the schools and college. For more information about the Committee, contact the University Librarian.

Faculty Senate Newsettler

Includes recent information about library services for faculty.

Page maintained by:

Allison Brungard
Research & Instruction Librarian
412.396.5345

David Nolfi
Health Sciences Librarian &
Library Assessment Coordinator
412.396.4931