Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

ETD Preparation & Submission: Guidelines for Graduate Students: Help With Forms

Electronic Theses & Dissertations (ETD) LibGuide

Filling Out Forms

If you are confused about which options to choose on the ETD Approval Form, read the explanations below. You can also read the guide on these options from ProQuest.

ETD Approval Form Options

Publishing Restrictions

Part B of the Approval Form asks whether you would like to release your entire work immediately for access worldwide, or delay release in the library repository for one year.

If you choose to delay the release, only the full-text document will be withheld. Title, abstract, and keywords will be released immediately. 

Following graduation, you may contact ProQuest directly and ask them to extend your embargo period. Regardless of embargo period selected for ProQuest, all ETDs will be available in the library repository after one year.

Publishing Type

How would you like your work published on ProQuest? There are two choices: Traditional Publishing and Open Access Publishing. Regardless of your choice, your ETD will be freely-accessible worldwide via Gumberg Library's ETD Collection.

Traditional Publishing means that the full-text ETD will be freely accessible through the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database to Duquesne students and faculty. To other users, a 20-page preview will be available in ProQuest, with the option to buy the full-text document. Because they are selling your work, as the author you are eligible to receive royalties.

Open Access Publishing means you agree to allow ProQuest to provide full-text access to your work free of charge, via their service PQDT Open. Access to the full-text in ProQuest is not limited to users at your institution, or those who can pay for access.

Loading ...

Questions?

Contact the Digital Scholarship Librarian or visit our FAQ page!