Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

EN 316: Healthcare & Literature (Sullivan): Home

 

Welcome to this research guide created especially to point students in Ms. Sullivan's EN 316: Healthcare & Literature course to needed resources for their writing assignments. It links the user to electronic reference works on literature, heathcare ethics, and the health sciences; to books dealing with literature and health science topics; and a wide array of literary, health science, and general databases for finding popular magazine and scholarly journal articles. It also provides information on citation and how to obtan resources not available at the Gumberg Library.

Need Help?

If at any time in your research you need help, click the Ask a Librarian link on the blue menu at the top right of the screen. Or contact me, Ted Bergfelt, the creator of this page. My phone number is 412.396.5351.

Click here to send Ted an email

Henrietta Lacks

The Gumberg Library has a research guide just on the Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. Click the link below to access it.

Literature Arts and Medicine Database

This database gives summaries of works of literature dealing with medicine, as well as commentary.

Electronic Reference Works

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

eReference Collections

Gumberg Library subscribes to a number of databases of electronic reference works. These cover all subject areas, and in some cases, contain hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries and other sorts of reference works. Most of these databases permit you to search all the reference works contained in them at once. This means you do not have to have in mind a particular book to search. Great for getting started with your research.

Find Books - Literature

Click a link below to find ALL print books ABOUT that author and their work. If you get too many results, click here to learn how to narrow your search. To learn how to find EBooks, click here.

Find articles - Literature

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Click here for tips on how to search these databases.

Specific Medical Journals

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Find articles - Health Sciences

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Fnd Articles - Popular Magazines

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.