Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Emmanuel Levinas: A Research Guide: Home

Born into a Lithuanian-Jewish family in 1906, Levinas studied philosophy in Germany in the 1920s under the phenomenologists Husserl and Heidegger. Levinas is responsible for the introduction of Phenomenology into France. In the 1930s he became a French citizen, and served in the French Army during World War II. Captured by the Germans, he spent the rest of the war in an army prison camp. The experience of the Nazi horror and the Holocaust colors all of his subsequent work, which lead to Levinas' belief that "ethics," as he puts it, "is first philosophy." For Levinas, the relation of the individual to The Other is philosophy's primary concern. Along with his teaching and writing in philosophy, Levinas was also a talmudic scholar.

This research guide will connect the user of Gumberg Library to all print and electronic books by and about Levinas and his work, to biographical articles, and to databases in philosophy.

 

Encyclopedia Articles

Biography, from the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Biography, from the Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd Edition

Biography,, from the Encyclopedia of Literary & Cultural Theory

Biography, from the Encyclopedia of Ethics

Biography, from Encyclopedia Judaica

 

Selected Works by Levinas

The Theory of Intuition in Husserl's Phenomenology

Translated by Andre Orrianne

Originally published : 1930

Call number: B3279.H94 L413 - 3rd Floor & Phenomenology Center (1st Floor)

Existence and Existents

Translated by Alphonso Longis

Originally published: 1947

Call number: B2430 .L483 D4513 2001X - Phenomenology Center (1st Floor)

Time and the Other

Translated by Richard A. Cohen

Originally published: 1948

Call number: B2430 .L483 T4613 1987 - 3rd Floor & Phenomenology Center (1st Floor)

Discovering Existence with Husserl

Edited by Richard A. Cohen and Michael B. Smith

Originally published: 1949

Call number: B3279.H94 L395 1998 - 3rd Floor & Phenomenology Center ( 1st Floor)

Humanism of the Other

Translated by Nidra Poller

Originally published: 1972

Call number: B2430 .L48 H8413 2003 - Phenomenology Center (1st Floor)

Otherwise Than Being or Beyond Essence

Translated by Alphonso Lingis

Originally published: 1974

Call number: B2430 .L483 A8313 1998X - Phenomenology Center (1st Floor)

Proper Names

Translated by Michael B. Smith

Originally published: 1976

Call number: B2430 .L4813 1996BX - 3rd Floor & Phenomenology Center (1st Floor)

Of God Who Comes to Mind

Translated by Bettina Bergo

Originally published: 1982

Call number: BD331 .L45813 1998 - 3rd Floor & Phenomenology Center (1st Floor)

Ethics and Infinity: Conversations with Phillipe Nemo

Translated by Richard A. Cohen

Originally published: 1982

Call number: B29 .L48513 1985 - 3rd Floor & Phenomenology Center (1st Floor)

Outside the Subject

Translated by Michael B. Smith

Originally published: 1994

Call number: B5800 .L4813 1994 - 3rd Floor & Phenomenology Center (1st Floor)

The Levinas Reader

Edited by Sean Hand

Originally published: 1989

Call number: B2430 .L482 E6 1989 - 3rd Floor & Phenomenology Center (1st Floor)

Emmanuel Levinas: Basic Philosophical Writings

Edited by Adriaan T. Peperzak, Simon Critchley, and Robert Bernasconi

Originally published: 1996

Call number: B2430 .L482 E6 1996 - 3rd Floor & Phenomenology Center (1st Floor)

The photo of Emmanual Levinas above is by Bracha L. Ettinger, and is used under a CC-BY-SA 2.5 license. Source: Wikimedia Commons