} Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Editorials: Where to Find Them: Welcome!

 

Image: Handy Man Reads Paper Between Duties, 1975, photographer: Al Stephenson. Public domain: Produced by the U.S. government (NARA). Source: Wikimedia Commons

Editorials: Local Newspapers

The links below will take you directly to the editorial pages of these newspapers.

Editorials: National Newspapers

The links below will take you directly to the editorial pages of these newspapers.

Need help? Ask me!

Ted Bergfelt, MLS

Humanities Librarian

Gumberg Library

412.396.5351

bergfelt@duq.edu

 

A great place to find editorials from 1300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs from around the world is the ProQuest Newsstand database. It contains the full-text of a large portion of the articles found in it (including newspaper editorials). Click the button below to enter the database. (This same technique will also work in the ProQuest Central and Academic Search Elite databases.) If you want to search it off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on the link. Then you will be able to search the database.


How to Search ProQuest Newsstand for Newspaper Editorials

1. Click the button above to enter the ProQuest Newsstand database.

2. In the first search box, type in the topic on which you hope to find editorials.

    

3. Scroll down to the Source type menu and choose "Newspapers" to limit your result to newspapers.

3. Scroll down a little further and choose "Editorial" from the Document type menu.

 

5. Then click Search.

 6. To tell if an article in your result list is available in full text, look for the Full Text icon.

  

One Thing to Note

All search results obtained through ProQuest Newsstand are arranged, by default, according to relevance. So the most recent editorials will not necessarily be at the top of the list. To see the most recent first in the result, you will need to change the "Sort results by" menu (on the right side of the screen) to "Publication date (most recent first)." The click the Sort button.

Lexis Nexis Academic

Another good source for newspaper editorials is the LexisNexis Academic database.