This is the "Home" page of the "Finding Full Text" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Full Text  

Last Updated: Sep 29, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duq.edu/FindingFullText Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tallie Casucci
Health Sciences Library Intern
Contact Info
412-396-4931
Send Email

Subject Guide

Finding Full Text Articles

There are several ways to find full text articles through Duquesne University databases.  A few of these ways are described here briefly.   If you have any problems or further questions, please contact a reference librarian.

The full text of articles is available to Duquesne students, faculty, and staff in the following ways:

  • Direct Links
    Find full text articles from direct PDF or HTML links within Gumberg Library's databases
  • FindIt!
    Find full text articles using Gumberg Library's FindIt! icon
  • Google Scholar
    Set your preferences to find full text using Google Scholar
  • PubMed @ Duquesne
    Find full text articles using PubMed @ Duquesne
  • Citation Linker
    When you have a citation, find the full text with Gumberg Library's Citation Linker
  • DuCat Reference Citation
    When you have a citation, find the full text with Gumberg Library's DuCat Reference Citation
 

Direct Links

Some articles on the search results page have direct links to full text in PDF, HTML, or both formats.

When PDF full text is available click the PDF Full Text link.

When HTML full text is available click the HTML Full Text link.

When both are available choose the format you prefer.  Note: HTML might load faster, but PDF offers better quality, especially if there are tables or graphs embedded within the article.

Top of page.

 

FindIt!

When neither a PDF or HTML link is available, click the Find It! button.

When FindIt! locates electronic full text, it displays database(s) that include the article and fills in the citation.  Click GO.  If the article is available through more than one database, pick the database that you prefer.

When electronic text is not available, FindIt! guides you to finding print holdings at Gumberg Library or to using Interlibrary Loan.  Click GO for DuCat to check for print journals. 

If the article is not available in print, click GO for Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request the article. FindIt! will redirect you to the ILLiad Logon. If you are a new ILLiad user, you will need to create an account.

Note: Interlibrary Loan will not request articles that the library has in print form unless you are registered in a distance learning course.

After you log on, the information for the article is automatically filled in; all you have to do is scroll down and submit your request.

 

Please note: Some databases do not use the FindIt! button.

The FindIt! icons below are from Scopus and SciFinder.

Top of Page.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip