LibGuides: Justice, Peace and the Integrity of Creation: Articles

Journal Databases

Journal Databases

Through this page you can gain access to databases of journal articles on various subjects covered by your JPIC courses. Many of them provide the full text or articles, either in HTML or PDF format. Even if full text of an article is not available in one database, click on the Full Text Finder button in a citation and this may enable you to connect to the article in another of our databases. Click here to find out more about finding the full text of articles. As more classes are added to the JPIC roster, journal databases supporting those classes will be added.

To access these databases you will need to enter you Multipass username and password, which may be obtained from your local coordinator.

Theology & Philosophy

Atla Religion This link opens in a new window
The premier index for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database, an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy, and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu, contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 16,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Content from over 450 journals is covered. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. Updated quarterly.
Philosophy Documentation Center (POIESIS) This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of a growing number of philosophy journals and serials, containing over 2,300 issues and 340,000 pages of text from 53 journals and series, and most of these are not available in electronic format from any other service. Also provides publishing services.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

Religious & Theological Abstracts

Social Sciences

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education -- unique in its focus on the practical problems of society and also in that it covers both sociology and psychology.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Sociology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access to the full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years, 1952-1962, have been added to the database as of November 2005, extending the depth of the backfile of this authoritative resource.

Psychology

Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 575 titles, with over 485 titles available in full text. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
A powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V, the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.

Law, Public Affairs & Political Science

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
This database chronicles issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. Also includes a historical perspective on many of the 20th century's social and public policies such as Prohibition, the civil rights movement, McCarthyism, Vietnam and Watergate.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Environmental & Natural Sciences

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Find primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in more than 45 scientific disciplines. Publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Journal Citation Reports® published by Thomson Reuters.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A database covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government and general interest sources.
Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
Science Journals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage dates back to 1986 and featuring over 1,145 titles—with more than 965 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.
PubMed @ Duquesne This link opens in a new window
Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
PMC (PubMed Central) This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. It is a small subset of PubMed. If you are starting your research, you should start with PubMed@Duquesne.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.

General/Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides 100% full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

Important Links

Finding Full Text

Many of the Gumberg Library databases supply not only bibliographic citations for articles, but full text as well. To learn about how to know in if full text is available in any our our resources, click the link below for a page that describes this in detail.

Finding Full Text

Google Scholar At Gumberg

Click on the link below to learn how to make Google Scholar display which full text articles are available through Gumberg Library.

How to Set Google Scholar Preferences