Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Clickable EBP Pyramid : Home

Clickable EBP Pyramid

Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) Resources

Evidence Based Practice (EBP) or Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) uses the best current research evidence to support clinical decisions in patient health care.

Click a segment of the pyramid to access resources available at Duquesne.

Download This Image


Federated Search Tools

TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database Plus

This meta-search engine simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles -- including most of those listed above and many more. Also searches MEDLINE’s Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets.

SUMSearch

Combines meta-searching and contingency searching in order to automate searching for medical evidence. Simultaneously searches multiple Internet sites and collates the results into one page.

Filtered Resources

 

Systematic Reviews / Meta-Analyses

 

Cochrane Library

Consists of detailed, structured topic reviews of hundreds of articles. Teams of experts complete comprehensive literature reviews, evaluate the literature, and present summaries of the findings of the best studies. Published by the International Cochrane Collaboration.

 

Ovid MEDLINE

In Ovid MEDLINE: Enter your search query; Click on the "Limits" icon; Select "Systematic Reviews" under "Subject Subsets."

 

PubMed@Duquesne

In PubMed: Enter your search query; Click "Systematic Reviews" under the filter "Article Types."

 

Scopus

If Scopus: Enter your search query inlcuding AND TITLE-ABS-KEY("Systematic Review*")

 

Critically-Appraised Topics

 

National Guideline Clearinghouse

A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans. Updated weekly.

Note: Guideline evidence varies from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.

Evidence-Based Resources from the Joanna Briggs Institute

Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets for nursing and the allied health professions.

 

PEDro

PEDro, the Physiotherapy Evidence Databases, is a free database of randomized trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

 

Critically-Appraised Individual Articles

 

The ACP Journal Club

The editors of this journal screen the top 100+ clinical journals and identify studies that are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. An enhanced abstract, with conclusions clearly stated, and a commentary are provided for each selected article. Published by the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine.

 


Unfiltered Resources

 

PubMed@Duquesne

 

To limit your PubMed search to the best evidence-producing studies: Click on "Clinical Queries" under "PubMed Tools." This specialized search is intended for clinicians and has built-in search "filters." Four study categories--therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis--are provided, and you may indicate whether you wish your search to be more sensitive (i.e., include most relevant articles but probably including some less relevant ones) or more specific (i.e., including mostly relevant articles but probably omit a few).

Ovid Medline

 

To limit your Ovid MEDLINE search to the best evidence-producing studies: Clinical Queries (See PubMed) is searchable in Ovid; click on the "Limits" icon.

PsycINFO

International coverage of the professional and academic literature in psychology, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.

To limit your PsycINFO search to the best evidence-producing studies: Click on the "Methodology" under "Refine Your Results" and choose from clinical case study, systematic reviews, meta analysis, etc.

CINAHL

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature

To limit your CINAHL search to the best evidence-producing studies: Click on "Show More" under "Refine Your Results" to use "Clinical Queries" and/or select the "Evidence Based Practice" filter.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

 


Background Information/Expert Opinion

Note: Evidence in these resources may vary from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.

UpToDate

A clinical information resource, which offers up-to-date, fully referenced expert answers to patient-care, diagnosis, and treatment questions. Topic reviews are written by recognized authorities who review the topic, synthesize the evidence, summarize key findings, and provide specific recommendations.

 

ebrary

Collection of over 70,000 full-text electronic books.

 

Harrison's Online

Features the complete contents of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 16th Edition. Includes the complete text and illustrations as well as expanded features such as additional references, links to MEDLINE abstracts, and unique online content. Updated daily.

 

Clinical Pharmacology

Drawing from a variety of authoritative sources, Clinical Pharmacology's four sections: drug information, drug products, patient education, and clinical tools, provide concise information to health care professionals and consumers.

 

Micromedex Health Care Series

A wide range of clinical databases, including unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.

 

Facts and Comparisons eAnswers

Facts and Comparisons, the leader in drug information for the pharmacy, is now online with eFacts. Drug information, interactions, herbal information, and patient medication handouts are seamlessly updated and can be customized to suit your needs.

 

Lexi-Comp Online

Contains full text drug information resources and other health care information.

 

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Digital full text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction, and 3,400 publicly-accessible titles.

 

Books@Ovid

Gumberg Library's Books @ Ovid collection provides full text electronic access to more than 150 books from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins and the Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research.

 


Evidence-Based Medicine Information Sites

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (Oxford University)

The Centre promotes evidence-based health care and provide support and resources to anyone who wants to make use of them. Includes the EBM Toolbox, an assortment of materials which are very useful for practitioners of EBM, and EBM Teaching Materials, including PowerPoint presentations.

 

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (Toronto)

Includes many resources for practicing and teaching EBM

 

Evidence-Based Medicine

A selective list of additional EBM websites developed and maintained by Duke University Medical Center Library.

 

Netting the Evidence

From the School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR) at the University of Sheffield, UK. Includes a comprehensive list of EBM databases, journals, articles, and other information sources.

 

Users' Guides to Evidence-Based Practice

From the University of Alberta's Centre for Health Evidence. Includes the complete set of EBM Users' Guides originally published as a series in the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA).

 


Evidence-Based Medicine Tutorials

Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine

From Duke University Medical Center Library and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Health Sciences Library.

 

SUNY Health Sciences Evidence-Based Medicine Course

 

 


EBM Pyramid and EBM Page Generator. (c) Copyright 2006-2011. Trustees of Dartmouth College and Yale University. All Rights Reserved.
Produced by Jan Glover, David Izzo, Karen Odato and Lei Wang.