LibGuides: Civil Rights Movement: Law

Use the tabs below to see resources available on laws related to the Civil Rights Era

The two Constitutional amendments to come out of the Civil Rights Movement were the 23rd Amendment (1961) and the 24th Amendment (1964).

Constutional Amendments: An Encyclopedia of the People, Procedures, Politics, Primary Documents, Campaigns for the 27 Amendments to the Constitution of the United States by Mark Grossman (General Editor)
Call Number: KF4557 .G76 2012 VOL. 1 VOL. 1 (Oversized)
This thought-provoking and interesting text provides a complete examination of each of our nation's 27 Constitutional Amendments. From the prohibition of alcoholic beverages, to slavery, to the voting rights of women, this text illustrates how the US Cons
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments, and Amending Issues, 1789-2002 by John R. Vile
Call Number: KF4557 .V555 2003
A new, thoroughly revised edition of the only major reference source on constitutional amendments and the amendment process.

Civil Rights Act of 1957 - Legislative History

Search Results for Civil Rights Act of 1957
Search Results in Gumberg Library Catalog using search term "Civil Rights Act of 1957"
Search Results for Civil Rights Legislation
Search Results in Gumberg Library Catalog using search term "Civil Rights Legislation"
Search Results for Civil Rights Act 1960
Search Results in Gumberg Library Catalog using search term "Civil Rights Act 1960"
Search Results for Civil Rights Act 1964
Search Results in Gumberg Library Catalog using search term "Civil Rights Act 1964"
Search Results for Voting Rights Act of 1965
Search Results in Gumberg Library Catalog using search term "Voting Rights Act of 1965"
Search Results for Civil Rights Act of 1968 ("Fair Housing Act")
Search Results in Gumberg Library Catalog using search term "Fair Housing Act"

Search Results for Brown v. Board of Education
Search Results in Gumberg Library Catalog using search term "Brown v. Board of Education"

Brown V. Board of Education and the Civil Rights Movement by Michael J. Klarman
Call Number: Gumberg 2nd Floor (KF4757 .K58 2007X)
A splendid account of the Supreme Court's rulings on race in the first half of the twentieth century, From Jim Crow To Civil Rights earned rave reviews and won the Bancroft Prize for History in 2005.
Brown V. Board of Education: A Civil Rights Milestone and Its Troubled Legacy by James T. Patterson
Call Number: eBook - May need to log-in with Multipass

Search Results for Thurgood Marshall
Search Results in Gumberg Library Catalog using search term "Thurgood Marshall"

Thurgood Marshall: His Speeches, Writings, Arguments, Opinions, and Reminiscences by Mark V. Tushnet (Editor); Thurgood Marshall
Call Number: DCLI Collection, Law Library (KF8745.M34 A4 2001)
Much has been written about Thurgood Marshall, but this is the first book to collect his own words. Here are briefs he filed as a lawyer, oral arguments for the landmark school desegregation cases, investigative reports on race riots and racism in the Army, speeches and articles outlining the history of civil rights and criticizing the actions of more conservative jurists, Supreme Court opinions now widely cited in Constitutional law, a long and complete oral autobiography, and much more.
Thurgood Marshall: American Revolutionary by Juan Williams
Call Number: DCLI Collection, Law Library (KF8745.M34 W55 1998)
Presents a biography of the first African American appointed to the Supreme Court, from his crusade against segregation to his friendships with other famous Black figures.

Loving v. Virginia in a Post-Racial World by Kevin Noble Maillard (Editor); Rose Cuison Villazor (Editor)
Call Number: DCLI Collection, Law Library (KF517 .L68 2012)
In 1967, the US Supreme Court ruled that laws prohibiting interracial marriage were unconstitutional in Loving v. Virginia. Although this case promotes marital freedom and racial equality, there are still significant legal and social barriers to the free formation of intimate relationships.

These are good general books on Civil Rights Legislation

Civil Rights and Liberties by Corey L. Brettschneider
Call Number: DCLI Collection, Law Library (KF4748 .B74 2013)
A distinctive approach to themes and principles encourages students to develop their own views on civil liberties in general and on the specific controversies such as abortion, gay rights, and hate speech.
Civil Rights in the Shadow of Slavery by George A. Rutherglen
Call Number: DCLI Collection, Law Library (KF4749 .R868 2013)
The 1866 Civil Rights Act is one of the most monumental pieces of legislation in American history, figuring into almost every subsequent piece of legislation dealing with civil rights for the next century. While numerous scholars have looked at it in the larger social and political context of Reconstruction and its relationship with the Fourteenth Amendment, this will be the first book that focuses on its central role in the long history of civil rights.
Civil Rights Legislation and Litigation by Rosalie Berger Levinson; Ivan E. Bodensteiner
Call Number: DCLI Collection, Law Library (KF4748 .L48 2009)