Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Catholic Novelists: Welcome!

St Francis de Sales, Patron Saint of Writers

, Public Domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons


E-Journals

To use any of these electronic journals off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a title link.

Other Things You Need to Know

How do you know if full text is available? Click the link below to find out.

How do you find EBooks?

If you search the QuickSearch Catalog (or the Classic Catalog), you will not find listed the EBooks owned by the Gumberg Library. Click the link directly below to learn how to find them.


Image Credit

The blue background on the banner above, and on each page of this research guide, is from the "America" windows, by Marc Chagall, Chicago Art Museum. Photo by ParentingPatch. CC BY-SA 3.0  Source: Wikimedia Commons

Welcome to this research guide designed to connect users of Gumberg Library with information on Catholic novelists writing in English. To be included on this list, a novelist need not be or have been a practicing Catholic, but their work must show the influence of Catholicism and reflect Catholic themes. It will link the user to books by and about individual Catholic novelists and about the category of Catholic fiction; will guide the user to appropriate reference works which will provide background information, and to literature and religion databases for magazine and journal articles, as well as book reviews. Rounding out the guide are tabs that will provide information on citation and on how to get materials not available at the Gumberg Library.

Use the tabs that run across the top of the screen to get to the various types of materials. Enjoy!

Help is Available!

If at any time in your research you need help, click the "Ask A Librarian" link in "Library Links" box on the left side of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, creator of this page. Click to send an email, or you can call me at 412.396.5351.

Find Articles - Literature & Religion Databases

Click here for tips on searching these databases. All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Find Articles - General Databases

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Print Reference Works

E-Reference Works

Click on the title of a work below to use it. To use any of these electronic reference books off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a title link. You may need to have cookies enabled to use these reference works.

Online Reference Collections

Both of these collections of resources can be accessed off-campus, but you will have to enter your Multipass username and password word in order to use them.

Gale Literature Resource Center

This database provides information on thousands of authors and literary works. It includes biographies, reviews and news, literary criticism, and topic and work overviews.

Literature Online (LION)

Along with the full text of of 350,000 English and American works of literature, this database provides articles from 200 full-text literary journals and other key critical and reference resources.