Skip to main content

UCOR 101: Thinking & Writing Across the Curriculum (Dr. Speese): Finding Editorials

This page will help students find Western primary sources giving Western views on Africans, and African primary sources in which Africans express their own views of themselves

Editorials in Academic Search Elite

How to Search Academic Search Elite for Newspaper Editorials

 

Go to Academic Search Elite. Click on "Advanced Search."

Type the words you want to search for in the search interface.

 

Scroll down to the "Publication type" menu on the right and choose "Newspaper" to limit your result to newspapers. (You could limit your search this way to just magazines, if you wanted to.)

 

Scroll down a little further and choose "Editorial" from the "Document type" menu on the left.

 

Click Search to see your result.

To tell if an article in your result list is available in full text, look for the "HTML Full Text" or "PDF Full Text" icons. If they do not appear, click on "Full Text Finder" to see if full text is in another Gumberg database.

 

One Thing to Note

All search results obtained through Academic Search Elite are arranged, by default, according to relevance. So the most recent editorials will not necessarily be at the top of the list. To see the most recent first in the result, you will need to change the " menu (on the right side of the screen at the top) from "Relevance" to "Date Newest."

 

Limitinf your search to editorials

How to Search ProQuest Central for Newspaper Editorials

 

Go to ProQuest Central.

Type the words you want to search for in the search interface.

 

Scroll down to the "Source type" menu on the left and choose "Newspapers" to limit your result to newspapers. (You could limit your search this way to magazines, if you wanted to.)

 

Then choose "Editorial" from the "Document type" menu in the center.

 

Click Search to see your result.

To tell if an article in your result list is available in full text, look for the "HTML" or "PDF full text" links.

 

If they do not appear, click on "Get full text" to see if full text is in another Gumberg database.

 

One Thing to Note

All search results obtained through ProQuest Central are arranged, by default, according to relevance. So the most recent editorials will not necessarily be at the top of the list. To see the most recent first in the result, you will need to change the "Sorted by" menu (on the right side of the screen) to "Most recent first."


Africa Learning Community, McAnulty College