Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Researching Mina Loy & Friends: Associates

Paris, 1910s-1930s

Click a link below to find all print books on that person in Gumberg Library. If it says "Worldcat" after a name, Gumberg Library owns no print books on that person. Books located in Worldcat can be requested through E-ZBorrow OR ILLiad

To learn how to find out if Gumberg Library owns Ebooks on a person below, click here

Names that are not links indicate that nothing could be found for it in books (print or electronic) at Gumberg Library or on Worldcat.

New York, 1930s-1950s

Click a link below to find all print books on that person in Gumberg Library. If it says "Worldcat" after a name, Gumberg Library owns no print books on that person. Books located in Worldcat can be requested through E-ZBorrow OR ILLiad

To learn how to find out if Gumberg Library owns Ebooks on a person below, click here


Loy Legacy Poets

Click a link below to find all print books on that person in Gumberg Library. If it says "Worldcat" after a name, Gumberg Library owns no print books on that person. Books located in Worldcat can be requested through E-ZBorrow OR ILLiad

To learn how to find out if Gumberg Library owns Ebooks on a person below, click here

Names that are not links indicate that nothing could be found for it in books (print or electronic) at Gumberg Library or on Worldcat.

Search Strategies

Getting Started

1. Everyone writing about one of Mina Loy's associates should also look at the biographies of Mina Loy available through the links in the "Find Books" box in the center of the "Mina" page. This might enable you to put the person you are writing about in your biography into the context of Mina Loy's life.

 

Background

1. To find background information on associates who are authors, use the reference sources in the first column on the "Mina" page. You can also use Literature Resource Center in the "Find Articles" box on the right-hand side of the "Mina" page.

2. To find information on people who are artists, use the print sources that are lower down in the first column on the "Mina" page.

3. For background information on all associates, use the "E-Reference Databases" at the bottom of the first column on the "Mina" page.

 

Books

1. Peoples names in the boxes on this page are links. If Gumberg Library owns secondary works on a person, the link will take you to all printed books on that person in the QuickSearch online catalog.

2. If Gumberg Library does not own secondary works on that person, the link will search Worldcat, the largest library catalog in the world. Books found there can be ordered either through EZ-Borrow (recommended) or ILLiad.

3. You should probably also look at some of the links in the "Related Topics" section of the "Find Books" box in the center of the "Mina" page. Books retrieved through those links may mention the person you are researching.

4. Even if you find print or ebooks on your person at Gumberg Library, you should probably still search Worldcat. It is recommended you limit your search to just "Books" because they are easier to borrow from other libraries, though sometimes we can borrow DVDs and other media. We cannot access ebooks held by other libraries.

5. Click here to learn how to find ebooks owned by Gumberg Library on an associate.

 

Find Articles

1. For articles on writers use the "Literature Databases" in the right-hand column on the "Mina" page.

2. For all names (including writers), use the "Other Databases to Search" in the right-hand column on the "Mina" page.

3. To learn how to find full text, click here.

4. If the text of articles are not available through Gumberg Library, use ILLiad to obtain the article.

 

Dissertations

1. There are many dissertations on Mina Loy. There could be dissertations available on any of her associates.

2. The first of the three sources in the "Dissertations" box on the "Mina" page, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global, provides full text of over one million dissertations.

3. The other two sources provide full text of all dissertations included in them.

 

Help

If at any point in your research you need assistance, feel free to  contact Ted Bergfelt, Humanities Librarian, 412-396-5351, email: bergfeltt@duq.edu