Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Gumberg Library Strategic Plan: Current SMART Goals

 

Current Gumberg Library SMART Goals

A SMART goal is one that is Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant, and Time bound.

Below are the goals the Library is currently working to achieve. As we achieve a goal, it will be moved to the list of achieved goals, and a new one will take its place.


1.1 Develop programming for students that is akin to "Phenomenology for Beginners" or "Merleau-Ponty in 15 minutes" to introduce undergraduate and graduate students to issues and figures in phenomenology by June 30, 2018. (Phenomenology Center)

1.1 Develop and begin a graduate student dissertation writing circle for students across the university working in phenomenology by the end of 2017. (Phenomenology Center)

1.1 The Assessment Committee will work with library and campus stakeholders to investigate assessing the impact of library use on student success and propose a plan for the University Librarian’s approval by December 1, 2017. (Assessment Committee)

1.1 October 2018—Collaborate with faculty, staff, student, and community groups to create dialog across disciplinary boundaries through community engaged programming supporting the Frankenstein and Shakespeare National Library of Medicine poster exhibits scheduled for March and August 2018.Funding: $2,500-- $1500 to cover shipping and return of posters, remainder to cover hospitality, honoraria, supplies, etc.[This goal also supports 6.2] (Information Services)

1.2 Work with faculty in the School of Education and other appropriate departments to review current PreK-12 curriculums for the collection by June 30, 2018. (Curriculum Center)

1.2 Engage with faculty and campus partners to assist faculty to incorporate information literacy into instructional methods and course syllabi, and to document information literacy efforts across the curriculum. Ongoing, with three milestones for this year.  1.2.1a August 2017—create initial online IL tutorial/video(s) for graduate students, and partner with stakeholders to embed these library resources into Blackboard and other appropriate sites for graduate education. (Information Services)

1.2 Engage with faculty and campus partners to assist faculty to incorporate information literacy into instructional methods and course syllabi, and to document information literacy efforts across the curriculum. Ongoing, with three milestones for this year.  1.2.1b June 2018—pilot a quarterly series of online webinars for graduate students that will also be recorded and posted to the library site and other appropriate sites. (Information Services)

1.2 Engage with faculty and campus partners to assist faculty to incorporate information literacy into instructional methods and course syllabi, and to document information literacy efforts across the curriculum. Ongoing, with three milestones for this year.  1.2.1c August 2017—Redesign UCOR 100 Research and Information Skills, including course content and assessments for face-to-face and online versions, to integrate the ACRL Information Literacy Framework in a student-centered, collaborative learning environment. (Information Services)

2.1 In early January 2018, the Building Committee will identify 2-3 local library architects to begin dialogue about library building renovations. Meetings will occur by April 1, 2018. (Building Committee)

2.1 The Building Committee, in collaboration with Facilities representatives, will draft a masterplan for Gumberg Library spaces by the October 1, 2017. The draft will be shared via e-mail with all library staff members and feedback will be received online and in person at open meetings during Fall 2017. The plan will be finalized by the end of 2017. (Building Committee)

2.1 The Building Committee, in collaboration with Library faculty, will investigate solutions for faculty office spaces including sharing of offices, ergonomics, location, and consideration of needs for privacy and noise control by May 2018. (Building Committee)

2.2 The Building Committee, in collaboration with the Head of Access Services and Director of Information Services, and in alignment with the masterplan discussions, will propose a new main service desk configuration for Gumberg Library by May 2018. (Building Committee)

2.2 Co-locate all Access Services staff offices to the 4th floor to support the interconnectedness and effectiveness of the Access Services Department by June 30, 2018. (Access Services)

2.2 Reduce the number of redundant front desk service points by cross-training student workers to handle more FAQs in Circ, Course Reserves, Resource Sharing, and Ready Reference and implementing an on-call model for Circ supervisors by August 31, 2017. (Access Services)

3.1 A Website Committee will be formed and co-chaired by the Outreach & Communications Librarian and Systems Librarian starting Summer 2017. This committee will propose a charge and member roster and will meet at least once by September 2017. The Committee will create a framework for action by October 2017. Committee work will conclude January 2019. (Outreach & Communications)

3.2 Study methods to re-envision collection management and recommend strategies to ensure the collection meets the changing needs of Duquesne University and to effectively utilize staff and technology to create more efficient business processes by July 2018. (Collection Management)

3.2 Move to a single sign-on for all library public interfaces, including ILLiad, E-Z Borrow, Encore, and EZproxy by December 2017 (Systems)

3.2 Work with Zepheira and Ebsco to add the Custom Libraries of the library’s discovery layer to the linked data environment by January 2018 (Systems)

3.2 In collaboration with the Collections Management / Acquisitions Department, the Systems Librarian, and ILL staff, explore purchasing items we are unable to borrow through Interlibrary Loan by August 31, 2017. (Access Services)

3.2 As a newly formed unit within the Gumberg Library organizational structure, work with key stakeholders to explore new strategies for raising awareness and use of existing but underutilized resources by August 31, 2017. (Access Services)

3.2 mprove the student experience by redesigning loan rules for consistency and clarity, to follow the semester timeline, reflect how current patrons use our physical materials, and to take into account the availability of items through resource sharing services by August 31, 2017. (Access Services)

3.2 Within the Access Services Department, develop an Access Services staff cross-training system by August 31, 2017. (Access Services)

3.2 The Phenomenology Center will create 10-15 LibGuides listing the unique archival collections housed in the Phenomenology Center by June 30, 2018. (Phenomenology Center)

3.2 Gather comprehensive electronic resource usage information and perform an analysis of these resources by both departmental breakdowns (e.g. all Theology, all Phenomenology) as well as at a cost level (e.g. within the $5k-$10k range, the $10k-$19,999 range, etc.) in a continued effort toward more data-driven decision making. Address a different range quarterly. (ERRC)

3.2 March 2018—Evaluate selected resources designed to improve accessibility of the reference collections including CREDO Reference and Paratext’s Reference Universe. (Information Services)

4.1 The SSPC will solicit archival materials from prominent phenomenologists and phenomenological organizations by June 30, 2018. (Phenomenology Center)

4.1 Develop a sacred music archival collection based on work and connections of Ann Labousky and link it to existing collections that she helped acquire (by June 30, 2018). (University Archives)

4.1 Also work with Music Librarian and Cataloging to enter music finding aids into ArchivesSpace (by Dec 30, 2017). (University Archives)

4.2 Interview 4-6 Spiritans and Veterans for the existing oral history projects (by June 30, 2018); launch and develop a workshop/programming for the Oral History Institute (by June 30, 2018); and work with campus partners to increase involvement and student participation in oral history projects (Dec 30, 2017). (University Archives)

4.3 Work with Zepheira and Ebsco to add the Custom Libraries of the library’s discovery layer to the linked data environment by January 2018 (Systems)

4.3 Over the next 12-15 months, the University Archives, Cataloging, Silverman Center and Music Librarian will collaborate to add 25-30 finding aids to ArchivesSpace and link them to the catalog and the institutional repository to increase accessibility. Finding aids for the Musmanno and Clarke collections, the music collections, the Silverman Center collections, and some university records will be included. (University Archives)

4.4 Explore LOCKSS and Amazon Glacier as digital preservation platforms for the library’s digitized content by June 30, 2018. (Systems)

5.1 Offer 3-5 training opportunities to support library faculty research by June 2018 (Faculty Committee)

5.1 The Library Faculty Committee will vote on an Open Access Policy by June 2018 (Faculty Committee)

5.2 The University Librarian will co-chair a campus-wide committee on open educational resources that will be responsible for assessing current perceptions of faculty and students regarding the purchase and prices of textbooks, reviewing OER best practices and identifying adoption strategies that are Duquesnable, and recommending a sustainable campus-wide strategy for OER adoption. The committee will be formed in August 2017 and will conclude their assessments and investigations by December 2017. (Administration)

5.3 Develop short "Youtube" style videos on basic issues and figured in phenomenology to help students at Duquesne and beyond by the end of 2017 (Phenomenology Center)

5.3 June 2018—Review campus strategic priorities to identify potential opportunities and needs for expert services including research consultations, NIH Biosketches, and funder requirements for open access data management. (Information Services)

5.3 June 2018—Grow expertise of cohort of librarians and staff providing expert services through funded training opportunities.  Funding: $1,500 to cover training for systematic reviews and other topics related to expert services. [Note this includes the $500 already allocated for Marcia Rapchak’s SR training.] (Information Services)

5.3 Leverage the capabilities of Duquesne Digital Commons to increase the accessibility of scholarship produced at Duquesne and to position the library as a resource for hosting and consulting on scholarly publishing. 5.3.3 May 2018—Develop strategic partnerships with diverse stakeholders within the university to present a variety of high-quality Duquesne content using the DDC platform. (Information Services)

6.1 Collaborate with faculty, Dr. Emad Mirmotahari, and community partners to have a book discussion (the book will be selected to support DUQ's mission) in the Fall semester, 2017. (Music)

6.1 Support and participate in the J. Edgar Wideman Experience by hosting a book discussion in Fall 2017 of one of his novels. (Administration)

6.1 Develop relationships and partnerships with Booksburgh at Children's Hospital (by August 31, 2017), as well as local summer reading programs by June 30, 2018). (Curriculum Center)

6.2 The University Archives will work with the National Broadcasting Museum to process and preserve their valuable collections and make them accessible to the public. This project is funded by a grant from the PA Department of Education. An archival research collection will be brought to Duquesne and made available to researchers and an exhibit will be constructed for the 100th anniversary of radio in 2020. (University Archives)