Little Red Riding Hood, by Jessie Willcox Smith, 1911. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons
The two literary databases below are excellent resources for finding background materials on fairy tales, the writers of fairy tales, and on how authors down through the centuries have made use of fairy tales in their own work.
Both of these collections of resources can be accessed off-campus, but you will have to enter your Multipass username and password word in order to use them.
Gale Literature Resource Center
This database provides information on thousands of authors and literary works. It includes biographies, reviews and news, literary criticism, and topic and work overviews.
Along with the full text of of 350,000 English and American works of literature, this database provides articles from 200 full-text literary journals and other key critical and reference resources.
For literature scholars who need an exhaustive set of scholarly resources around a literary topic for research and course planning. 500,000 primary works and millions of records from journals, monographs, and dissertations.
This Gumberg Library research guide is designed to quickly connect students researching fairy tales and their creators to the materials they need. It links users to: Reference works, both print and electronic; books, again both print and electronic; databases for journal articles; quality websites; as well as videos and other media. Information on citation in multiple formats and how to get materials not available at the Gumberg Library rounds out the guide.
Use the tabs running across the top of the screen to access the various types of information sources.
Help is Available!
If at any time in your research your need help, Ask Gumberg. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, the creator of this page. Click to Send Email, or phone me at 412.396.5351.
To use these titles off campus, you will have to enter your Multipass information when you click on a title.
Fairy Tale: A Very Short Introduction by 
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales by 
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Fairy and Folk Tales by 
A Guide to Folktales in the English Language by 
Morphology of the Folktale, 2nd edition, revised by 
Storytelling Encyclopedia: Historical, Cultural, and Multiethnic Approaches to Oral Traditions Around the World by 
The Types of the Folktale: A Classification and Bibliography, 2nd Revision by 
Index to Fairy Tales, 1987-1992: Including 310 Collections of Fairy Tales, Folktales, Myths, and Legends : With Significant Pre-1987 Titles Not Previously Indexed by 
