Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

African Studies: A Resource Guide: Religion/Phil


Detail from an Ethiopian icon, 17th century. Photo by Andreas Praefcke. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Electronic Reference Collections

Gumberg Library subscribes to a number of collections of electronic reference works. To use these e-reference collections off-campus, you must enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link.

Spiritan Collection

The Congregation of the Holy Spirit were pioneering missionaries to the African continent and still maintain an vibrant presence there. The link below will take you to a digital collection of primary source documents of the Spiritans, many of which detail their work in various parts of Africa.

Religion & Philosophy

On this page you will find listed selected resources on Africa Religion and Philosophy. You will find reference books, both print and electronic, databases useful for finding magazine and journal articles, links that will find books in the QuickSearch online catalog, and selected reliable websites.

Find Background Information

Not all these reference works are devoted to Africa, but African religion and philosophy are covered in them. To use the electronic sources off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass information when you click on a title lnk.

Find Books: Philosophy

Selected E-Journals

To access some of the electronic journals from off campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.

Find Articles

To use these databases off-campus you must enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link.